Jump to content



Photo

Some support- releted questions


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Tryvenyal

Tryvenyal

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 June 2013 - 07:18 PM

Hi!

We had after yesterday game several questions related to "Support".

1. Player A have an area in which he has establiched control and have no units there. Can this area be supported if an enemy attacks it?

2. Player A attacks player B in a sea attack. Player B supports with one ship from an adjuctant sea area. Blayer B wins the battle but suffers a tides of battle scull. I think only defending units can be destroyed but the rule text is not very clear.

3. A support order is only valid for one battle, correct? Is it the same with a defence order?

4. A supporting unit can support all oversea areas that could be target of a march order, correct?

Thanks!

/Tryvenyal



#2 Geldris

Geldris

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 12 June 2013 - 07:48 PM

1. No.  Only units can be supported, not power or garrison tokens

2. Uncertain, never really used tides of battle.

3. No, support and defence may be played as many times as desired per turn

4. I'm not sure I understand your question, but I believe the answer is no.  You can only support adjacent areas, you cannot support across seas.  Similarly, a land unit cannot support a sea unit.

Hope that helps!



#3 Tryvenyal

Tryvenyal

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 June 2013 - 08:30 PM

Geldris said:

1. No.  Only units can be supported, not power or garrison tokens

2. Uncertain, never really used tides of battle.

3. No, support and defence may be played as many times as desired per turn

4. I'm not sure I understand your question, but I believe the answer is no.  You can only support adjacent areas, you cannot support across seas.  Similarly, a land unit cannot support a sea unit.

Hope that helps!

 

Thansk for the clarifying answers :)

I´ll try to clarify question 4 by breaking it into several questions:

For example, Player A has one boat in each of the right side sea areas(quite extrem, I know). He has a march order in Storms End and a Support order in Sunspear.  

4 a: Player A can attack Winterfell from Storms End, correct?

b: Can Sunspear units support the attack?



#4 Staurty

Staurty

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 13 June 2013 - 12:53 AM

'Ship Transport' can only be used for Marching and Retreating

 

This means that, in your eample below, units at sunspear cannot Support the battle at winterfell.

This also means that, if the units at sunspear had been given a Raid order, they could not have Raided winterfell.

 

For the question of Tides of Battle Skulls, the rules don't say it exactly, but I would use the same principle as casualties from Sword icons. Casualties from Sword icons are only taken from the units that were defeated in combat and have been forced to retreat, not from Supporting units.

For example, I get attacked by the Lannister player and I only have a single footman at that location, but I have two additional footmen with a Support icon nearby, so they add their support. The Lannister player uses the Gregor Clegane house card and I play a weak card with no Fortification icons. I am defeated. As the Gregor Clegane card has three(!) sword icons I take three casualties from my retreating units. As I only have one retreating unit it is removed. I do not also remove the two supporting footmen. Gregor's extra two swords have been wasted.

I would apply the same logic and say that skull icons can only cause a casualty from the units (attacking or defending) that are actually present in the battle, not suporting units. If there are no unts left to remove, the skull icon is wasted. This could happen because, for example, Mace Tyrell was used and removed the only unit that the opponent had before the skull can come into effect. T



#5 Tryvenyal

Tryvenyal

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 June 2013 - 01:02 AM

Thanks for a very good answer! We have done errors while playing it seems.

:)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS