Jump to content



Photo

Deflect Clarification


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Sacrilege83

Sacrilege83

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 30 May 2013 - 06:20 AM

Keyword Deflect:

The X hits that are deflected are the ordered dice that has the same color rank as the attacking unit, or X hits deflected is the number based on rank of the attacker (like green = 1, blue =2, red =3)?

 

They don't go into great details of it in the rules.  My understanding is melee attackers can't ever hit on dice results that match their colored rank (i.e. a melee attacker of the same rank as the target can only ever hit on valor, whereas a different colored rank attacker makes the deflect rule useless.  Not counting Polearm.)



#2 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 30 May 2013 - 08:31 AM

Here is what is in the rules:

 

Units with this keyword are able to use specialized weapons in order to avoid enemy attacks. After a melee attack against this unit is rolled, the controller of this unit may discard X order tokens (that match the attacking unit's rank) to ignore X hits.

*also if they have a polearm, they discard an additional hit.

Here is an example:

 

A blue unit for Lannister attacks a unit of Manderly Trident Bearers. They roll three dice and get to hits. The person controlling the Maderly unit can discard one blue order token  (from his order pool) to ignore one of the hits. This unit can also ignore the second hit because it has polearm.

 

Basically X is just the number of order tokens used by the person controlling the unit. If you put in 3 tokens, you can avoid 3 hits (plus any additional due to other rules).

 

Hope this helps.

 

EDIT:

 

Also, just so we're on the same page about attacks and hits. If a blue unit attacks a blue unit, it rolls 3 dice. If the result is 2 Greens and a Blue, the unit that was attacked takes one hit. Basically, you have to roll the color of the unit you are attacking to hit it.



#3 Sacrilege83

Sacrilege83

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 June 2013 - 04:08 AM

Thanks once again, I was confused by the ordered token bit to cancel the X amount of hits.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS