Jump to content



Photo

Another Plot Resolution question


  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Old Ben

Old Ben

    Member

  • Members
  • 612 posts

Posted 23 November 2008 - 09:59 PM

mathlete:


I play Fury of the Wolf (a military battle plot). My opponent reveals Bounty for the Realm.

I have the Riverlands in play.

Quote:
After a player reveals a Military Battle plot card, kneel all cards named The Riverlands. Then, each player may put an in-House character with a icon and printed cost 3 or lower into play from his or her hand.


Since I have initiative, if I let my opponent's Plot resolve first and then he would have five new cards to put a character in play via my Riverlands?

If I let my Plot resolve first, do we each put a character in play via the Riverlands before he gets his new five cards from Bounty?

Does it matter which Plot resolves first with regards to The Riverlands?



maester_Luke:


mathlete wrote:
I play Fury of the Wolf (a military battle plot). My opponent reveals Bounty for the Realm.

I have the Riverlands in play.

Quote:
After a player reveals a Military Battle plot card, kneel all cards named The Riverlands. Then, each player may put an in-House character with a icon and printed cost 3 or lower into play from his or her hand.


Since I have initiative, if I let my opponent's Plot resolve first and then he would have five new cards to put a character in play via my Riverlands?

Correct. Passives (and Responses) to a plot reveal occur after the 1st plot is triggered. The first player (in this case you) chooses both the order in which plots trigger, and the order in which the passives resolve. If you have the Bounty as first plot, they will have the five new cards to choose from when the Riverlands kneels.
Quote:
If I let my Plot resolve first, do we each put a character in play via the Riverlands before he gets his new five cards from Bounty?

Correct... the opponent would not have discarded their hand yet, and be choosing from what remained in their hand.
Quote:
Does it matter which Plot resolves first with regards to The Riverlands?

It most certainly does, see the above two answers.

1) Another good application in this situation would be the Golden Tooth Guard: Continuing your current example, with the addition that your opponent has a GTGuard in play. If you win intiative, you can have your plot go first. Passives occur, and you have the Riverlands first while they have no cards in hand. You then have the Guards ability occur, having them draw a card prior to discarding it when their plot occurs second, once all passives and responses to plot reveal are done.

2) Had they some initiative boosts in play, they could have had their plot go first, putting five new cards in their hand, chosen the GTG as the first passive, drawing a sixth, then the Riverlands, now that they have some choices for it's ability, and finally trip your plot (with no actual 'When Revealed' effect) as the second plot.

In the second example, it may seem a little unintuitive that the Riverlands ability occurs prior to it's "resolution," but all plots are revealed immediately... like Wheeler said "Time Is What Prevents Everything From Happening At Once."



ktom:


All additional examples aside, the thing to remember (as it seems you did) is this:

ALL passives and Responses to ALL plots being revealed take place after the first plot is resolved but before the second activates.
 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS