Jump to content



Photo

Tome of Atanator / Scroll of Isildur


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Ohnomycocoa

Ohnomycocoa

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 24 May 2013 - 09:31 PM

Looking at the spoilt preview cards for Blood of Gondor and the Morgul Vale it looks like we are getting two cards with the ability to play an event from your discard for leadership and lore.

Text on the Tome seems to read :

"Attach to a leadership hero. Reduce the cost of playing Tome of Atanator by 1 for each hero you control with the leadership icon.

Exhaust Tome of Atatnator to play any leadership event in your discard pile as if it were in your hand. Then place that event on the bottom of your deck".

Looks like the lore version does exactly the same thing for lore.

These look like pretty powerful cards right ? Can already see some combos with lore's card draw events.



#2 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,776 posts

Posted 24 May 2013 - 10:46 PM

i assume we shall get similar for spirit and tactics. …at first i thought you had to pay the cost but i have just seen you dont have to…so yeah, they are powerful, more so than i thought. i can think of many cards which would benefit from these….how about grim resolve?

they do seem great cards- and interesting mechanics

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#3 Ohnomycocoa

Ohnomycocoa

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 12:07 AM

Good point - grim resolve would be epic !



#4 Glaurung

Glaurung

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,849 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 12:17 AM

Ohnomycocoa said:

Looking at the spoilt preview cards for Blood of Gondor and the Morgul Vale it looks like we are getting two cards with the ability to play an event from your discard for leadership and lore.

Text on the Tome seems to read :

"Attach to a leadership hero. Reduce the cost of playing Tome of Atanator by 1 for each hero you control with the leadership icon.

Exhaust Tome of Atatnator to play any leadership event in your discard pile as if it were in your hand. Then place that event on the bottom of your deck".

Looks like the lore version does exactly the same thing for lore.

These look like pretty powerful cards right ? Can already see some combos with lore's card draw events.

I think this is too powerful. Probably you can do it once and then discard tome. If you just can cycle your events from discard pile this is crazy powerful


Wizard is never late.......

 

Glaurung playtrough LOTR LCG on youtube :

http://www.youtube.com/user/olegyd   


#5 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,776 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 12:40 AM

looking at both cards spoiled i dont think it does say limit once per X…..perhaps they will change before print

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#6 lleimmoen

lleimmoen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,682 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:05 AM

It says discard, not exhaust. Otherwise, very useful cards, but not that much outside the mono-sphere dekcs, it seems.



#7 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,776 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:19 AM

ah yes- so it does…i was just going on the original quote in the post. oh well….slightly less useful than i thought ;)


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#8 Glaurung

Glaurung

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,849 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 04:53 AM

richsabre said:

ah yes- so it does…i was just going on the original quote in the post. oh well….slightly less useful than i thought ;)

You cannot call it less useful cose since is not discarded is a broken card which is completely brake all balance of the game…..

In the middle of the game this card effect is same like: next round you win the game.

 


Wizard is never late.......

 

Glaurung playtrough LOTR LCG on youtube :

http://www.youtube.com/user/olegyd   


#9 lleimmoen

lleimmoen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,682 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 05:28 AM

Glaurung said:

richsabre said:

 

ah yes- so it does…i was just going on the original quote in the post. oh well….slightly less useful than i thought ;)

 

 

You cannot call it less useful cose since is not discarded is a broken card which is completely brake all balance of the game…..

In the middle of the game this card effect is same like: next round you win the game.

 

yeah, whatever



#10 Ohnomycocoa

Ohnomycocoa

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 06:10 AM

Still, being an attachment the Master of the Forge could fetch it back - so it may be playable still.



#11 Dain Ironfoot

Dain Ironfoot

    Member

  • Members
  • 625 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 07:30 AM

Ohnomycocoa said:

 

Still, being an attachment the Master of the Forge could fetch it back - so it may be playable still.

 

 

Master of the Forge doesn't pull attachments from your discard pile - just search the top 5 cards of your deck for an attachment.

Do you mean Ererbor Hammersmith?

Either way, the problem with that is, these are mono-sphere cards, meaning you are unlikely to have the Hammersmith (or the Master of the Forge) unless you are mono-Lore, or splashing with Songs.



#12 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,776 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 08:52 AM

Glaurung said:

richsabre said:

 

ah yes- so it does…i was just going on the original quote in the post. oh well….slightly less useful than i thought ;)

 

 

You cannot call it less useful cose since is not discarded is a broken card which is completely brake all balance of the game…..

In the middle of the game this card effect is same like: next round you win the game.

 

i stll dont see how its that powerful…..


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#13 legolas18

legolas18

    Member

  • Members
  • 330 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 03:33 PM

Yeah, I pointed these cards out a while ago, they look like they're going to be extremely useful. So excited for more cards in this cycle!!!


Playing an intense scenario, on the last stage, right when you notice you've been playing with two Bofurs the whole time.


#14 benhanses

benhanses

    Member

  • Members
  • 351 posts

Posted 31 May 2013 - 05:33 AM

So did we determine if it's exhausted to perform the action… or discarded?

Either way, if I'm reading the text correctly, it's still an action that has a cost….

 

(Exhaust/Discard) …"to play any leadership event in your discard pile as if it were in your hand". 

 

To me that means that you still need to pay the resource cost of whatever card you retrieve.  You have to pay for cards from your hand, and the retrieved event is played as a card from the hand.  Anyone have a different take on this?  So if you're pulling more expensive events back, it's not something you'd trigger every turn anyways.  But I think that discarding might still be more appropriate… unless the initial cost to play a Tome/Scroll is prohibitively high to satart with to make it worth keeping as a re-usable attachment.


"... but I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend...."       -Faramir, The Lord of the Rings, Book IV, The Window of the West)

 

"Since it is so likely that children will meet cruel enemies, let them at least have heard of brave knights and heroic courage."     - C.S. Lewis





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS