Jump to content



Photo

An Ithaqua question…


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 West996

West996

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 03:59 PM

My brother and I just started playing Elder sign and a quesiton came up reguarding Ithaqua and when exactly this penalty for using unique items and spells comes into play.

For example, with a card that heals.. if you were to use an ability that heals while you were at 1 stamina. Would Ithaqua's ability kill you before you recieved the healing. 

When is the stamina pentaly resolved?  

 

To be specific, I have 1 stamina, I use health stone. Do I die from Ithaqua's ability before I am actually healed by the card? Or does the card heal me to full and then I suffer that stamina penalty?

 

 



#2 Musha Shukou

Musha Shukou

    Member

  • Members
  • 452 posts

Posted 21 May 2013 - 08:32 AM

You lose 1 Stamina each time you spend a unique item or spell, so the mere use of the item is what triggers the -1 Stamina. Therefore, I would have to say the Stamina loss occurs before any effects gained from the item. In your case, I would have to say you die when you use your item.



#3 NeonSurfboard

NeonSurfboard

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 May 2013 - 03:53 PM

In my opinion, the effect of using a card to heal yourself occurs immediately after discarding the card.  With that said, Ithaqua's effect also occurs immediately after discarding the appropriate card.  To me the logic would follow that both of those immediate effects would occur simultaneously.  I think of it like cutting a small hole in the bottom of a water filled bucket at the exact same time you began to add additional water to it.  If you are filling the bucket at the same rate it is losing water, the water level would not drop and would therefore never be technically empty (or in this case the investigator would not technically run out of life, as it is being drained at the exact same rate as it is being filled).  Just my two cents.



#4 TheTurnipKing

TheTurnipKing

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 May 2013 - 02:40 PM

I don't think there's any specific timeline for this.  I'd apply them both at once, and treat it it as a net gain.  player health = ( healing gain - Ithaqua's deduction ).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS