Jump to content



Photo

Upgrading More Dice Than Available


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 herozeromes

herozeromes

    Member

  • Members
  • 294 posts

Posted 17 May 2013 - 08:00 AM

On page 8 of the rule book, there is a section on Upgrading More Dice Than Available. The part that throws me off is, it says if you have no more Ability Dice, add one Green Ability die to the pool. If you don't have enough dice, this would be impossible. I think I'm starting to get it, but maybe not. Let's say you need 4 Ability Dice, but only have the 3 that came with the set. Does that mean that you take out one Green die and replace it with one Yellow die? Or if you need 5, you take out 2 Green and add two Yellow?



#2 Kallabecca

Kallabecca

    Member

  • Members
  • 685 posts

Posted 17 May 2013 - 02:12 PM

herozeromes said:

On page 8 of the rule book, there is a section on Upgrading More Dice Than Available. The part that throws me off is, it says if you have no more Ability Dice, add one Green Ability die to the pool. If you don't have enough dice, this would be impossible. I think I'm starting to get it, but maybe not. Let's say you need 4 Ability Dice, but only have the 3 that came with the set. Does that mean that you take out one Green die and replace it with one Yellow die? Or if you need 5, you take out 2 Green and add two Yellow?

I'm not sure what you're asking… are you asking about upgrading dice or having issues with the size of the dice pool?

Judging by your initial question, what happens is, you add a green dice if all the dice have already been upgraded. If you don't physically have enough dice, then you roll what you have, take one of the greens (remembering what it did roll) and roll it again and add the result to the pool.

So, the basics of upgrading…

get your initial pool set, say GGY. You have two upgrades. So, the two Gs become Ys for a final pool of YYY.

get your initial pool set, say GGY. You have three upgrades. So, the two Gs become Ys and now you're out of Gs to upgrade, so you add a G for a final pool of YYYG.

get your initial pool set, say GGY. You have five upgrades. So, the two Gs become Ys then you add a G (your third upgrade) the next upgrade turns the G into a Y and the final upgrade adds a G for a final pool of YYYYG.

If you only have 3 Y dice, then roll the 3 of them. Rember the symbols that showed up on one, and reroll it. Same thing with G dice, or Black, or Red, or Purple…



#3 herozeromes

herozeromes

    Member

  • Members
  • 294 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 01:21 PM

Thank you very much. I was just missing the meaning of the entire section. I thought it was literally about what to do if you didn't have enough dice, not if you have already done every possible upgrade on the current pool.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS