Jump to content



Photo

Epic Phase Events


  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Old Ben

Old Ben

    Member

  • Members
  • 612 posts

Posted 23 November 2008 - 09:55 PM

ShivesMcShiver:


I know that any answers will mostly be based on theory since we haven't seen the FAQ or any of the other cards. How is the current card interpreted as far as its location in the game? Is it not considered in your discard pile until after the epic phase? Is there going to be a new "zone" in the game next to your plots?


Old Ben:

Interesting question, i always thought that this part of the effect was only made to make it easier to memorize that there´s an epic phase. But since there are some event recursion mechanics it´s worth to take a second look at the status of the event.

I guess you thought about playing the event preplot and then try to recyle it with say "wildfiring" Lord Anders Hounorguard to possibly take back the event?!

I guess since the effects of the event aren´t executed before dominance phase it will not be considered to be in the discard pile but in some sort of hiatus position.



Ktom:


As per the card, you do not place the event in your discard pile until AFTER the Epic phase (that it opens in the case of multiples...) closes. That means it is not in your discard pile for recursion effects until the round after you play it. It can be recursed, just not in the same round that it is played in (generally - there are probably scenarios involving multiple Epic phases where recursion could happen in the same round).

I would also say that the placement near the plot card is also intended to act as a reminder that the phase exists. I don't think you need a new "zone" for the card. I mean, where is your revealed plot card "located" in the game? The Epic event is probably "next to" it in that same place.

The only real issue I can see is whether or not the event is considered "in play" as far as card effects go. Not that it MATTERS. If it were "in play," it's not like knocking it "out of play" between the Plot phase and Epic phase will stop the Epic phase from happening.

So I guess my question here is why we'd be concerned with the "location" of the card. Like the revealed plot card, knowing where it is NOT probably addresses any situation that would currently arise.



Lars:

ktom wrote:


I would also say that the placement near the plot card is also intended to act as a reminder that the phase exists. I don't think you need a new "zone" for the card. I mean, where is your revealed plot card "located" in the game? The Epic event is probably "next to" it in that same place.




well some of the new events say if you have on next to your house card, does that make it an official zone?



Ktom:


Lars wrote:
well some of the new events say if you have on next to your house card, does that make it an official zone?


BTW: Sorry I misspoke. The Epic events go next to your plot deck, not next to your revealed plot card.

I guess a lot of this is still not penetrating my thick skull in terms of why it MATTERS "where" the card is. I mean, the locations could just as easily say "if you successfully played an Epic Battle event card that wasn't canceled this round..." instead of "if there is an Epic Battle card by your plot deck...". When the event is sitting there, it isn't part of your plot deck, used plot pile, draw deck, discard pile, dead pile, or attached to your House card. Short of confirming whether it is considered "in play" or not, which doesn't actually matter, what more do we need to know?

The fact that it is referenced on the locations may make "next to your plot deck" an "official zone," at least in a temporary sense, but I guess I'm just not seeing what the big deal is? Seriously, if a card said "tack this card to your forehead" and another card said "if there is a card tacked to your forehead," would we really need some sort official interpretation from FFG to confirm that your forehead is not part of the discard pile or any other referenced area in the game?



ShivesMcShiver:


Hell yes. I would want to know why it was tacked to my forehead. Is my opponent going to be targeting my forehead at some point? I am sure the motivation is just to make sure you don't the event back the same turn you played it (Highgarden anyone?) but its worth asking and exploring some, even if it irritates the hell out of you. I mean, is it just another passive whatever that we can forget or will it have some actual effect on the game?


Ktom:


ShivesMcShivers wrote:
but its worth asking and exploring some, even if it irritates the hell out of you.

The discussion doesn't irritate me. I'm just trying to understand why the original post seemed to call for official interpretation of something that seems to be covered by "The Golden Rule." The card is "on your forehead" because it SAYS it's on your forehead. And I'm just not sure why we need FFG to come out and say "cards 'on your forehead' are not considered to be in the discard pile" or something similar.

ShivesMcShivers wrote:
I mean, is it just another passive whatever that we can forget or will it have some actual effect on the game?

Yes. If a card tells you the presence of the Epic Battle card next to your plot deck (which was put there because that's what the card text said to do) has an effect (like the 3 new Kingdom reducers), the it does. Otherwise, it's just another passive whatever that has no practical effect on the game. I mean, do we really need something official to explain when you get to draw a card for The Gift and when you can't?

I guess I need an example of something that would be ambiguous here. Other than that, I think it's something we just have to accept as limited or potential design space until a card actually comes along that does something with it.

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS