"Whenever an investigator casts a Spell, he may accept the Lurker at the Threshold's aid. If he does so, he reduces the Sanity cost of the Spell to 0 and automatically passes the Spell check (…)" I'm looking for clarity about the part in bold. It's obvious when you use it on spells that require a single success to function and further ones wouldn't improve it a bit. So what happens, when:
- The spell requires more than one success to work, like Bind Monster.
- Gaining a single success will make it utterly useless, Spectral Razor for example.
Logic would dictate that you gain enough successes in the first case to neutralise the monster. Even with minimal lore, it would be possible because of the +4 modifier. The second case is what bothers me. One could argue, that the Lurker will only make you pass just barely, thus it is a waste to bargain with devil like this. However, wouldn't such a powerful being have the power to fully charge those spells? Think about it, fist of Yog-Sothoth even has the_name within! Not to mention that those spells are inferior to the static ones anyway. At least the Lurker would give the investigators some real temptation!
So, what do you think? Has there been any official ruling on this one?