Jump to content



Photo

Gloin and Sneak Attack.


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 deanruel

deanruel

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 08 May 2013 - 08:58 PM

I'm curious if anyone knows if using Sneak Attack with the Gloin ally grants you Gloin's 2 resources, assuming you have the 5 dwarves neccesary.  My reading of the text says yes but I want to make sure that's correct.



#2 CJMatos

CJMatos

    Member

  • Members
  • 349 posts

Posted 08 May 2013 - 09:27 PM

I believe that you can trigger his response…

 

However, the question is: why spend Sneak Attack to put Gloin in play?

 

Essencially you are putting Gloin into play by the same cost…


Carlos José Matos


#3 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,768 posts

Posted 08 May 2013 - 11:05 PM

CJMatos said:

I believe that you can trigger his response…

 

However, the question is: why spend Sneak Attack to put Gloin in play?

 

Essencially you are putting Gloin into play by the same cost…

the only reason is to keep getting the two resources as he will be put back into your hand.


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#4 karagh

karagh

    Member

  • Members
  • 125 posts

Posted 11 May 2013 - 09:44 AM

"play from your hand". You can't trigger the response.



#5 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,768 posts

Posted 11 May 2013 - 09:59 AM

karagh said:

"play from your hand". You can't trigger the response.

is this right?

gloin says 'after you play gloin from your hand….'

sneak attack says 'put 1 ally card into play from your hand….'

 


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#6 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 11 May 2013 - 10:50 PM

richsabre said:

karagh said:

 

"play from your hand". You can't trigger the response.

 

 

is this right?

gloin says 'after you play gloin from your hand….'

sneak attack says 'put 1 ally card into play from your hand….'

 

karagh is correct, as "play" is different from "put into play".  "Play" means paying the resource cost and moving the card from your hand to the play area.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#7 CJMatos

CJMatos

    Member

  • Members
  • 349 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 04:37 AM

Angus Lee said:

richsabre said:

 

karagh said:

 

"play from your hand". You can't trigger the response.

 

 

is this right?

gloin says 'after you play gloin from your hand….'

sneak attack says 'put 1 ally card into play from your hand….'

 

 

 

karagh is correct, as "play" is different from "put into play".  "Play" means paying the resource cost and moving the card from your hand to the play area.

I have serious doubts about karagh been correct…

Sorry but to me, you can trigger the response from gloin.

 

The card is played from your hand…


Carlos José Matos


#8 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,768 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 04:48 AM

one for caleb  then perhaps? i only ask first as i have sent rather a lot of requests lately….he probably thinks i havent even read the rule book haha

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#9 legolas18

legolas18

    Member

  • Members
  • 328 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 04:58 AM

I just sent one in… Sorry if someone else already has. cangrejo  I'll post when the answer arrives.


Playing an intense scenario, on the last stage, right when you notice you've been playing with two Bofurs the whole time.


#10 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,272 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 05:03 AM

 

"(1.16) The phrase “put into play”
If a card effect uses the phrase “put into play,” it means
that the card enters play through a card effect instead
of through the normal process of paying resources and
playing the card from hand. “Put into play” effects
are not considered to be playing the card, and will not
trigger any effects that refer to a card being played.
“Put into play” will, however, trigger any effects that
occur when a card “enters play”." (FAQ, p. 5)
 
Second sentence in particular. Sheesh, rich has probably played a 1000+ games and still can't get the rules right burla , while I, who last played almost a year ago, can still remember critical details like this. Then again, I'm a rules lawyer at heart.
 
Also, is it any wonder if replies take a while when people bombard them with questions THERE ARE ALREADY OFFICIAL RULINGS TO enfadado !
 
 

"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#11 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,768 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 05:59 AM

Dam said:

 

"(1.16) The phrase “put into play”
If a card effect uses the phrase “put into play,” it means
that the card enters play through a card effect instead
of through the normal process of paying resources and
playing the card from hand. “Put into play” effects
are not considered to be playing the card, and will not
trigger any effects that refer to a card being played.
“Put into play” will, however, trigger any effects that
occur when a card “enters play”." (FAQ, p. 5)
 
Second sentence in particular. Sheesh, rich has probably played a 1000+ games and still can't get the rules right burla , while I, who last played almost a year ago, can still remember critical details like this. Then again, I'm a rules lawyer at heart.
 
Also, is it any wonder if replies take a while when people bombard them with questions THERE ARE ALREADY OFFICIAL RULINGS TO enfadado !
 
 

cheeky bugger….1000 is an understatement..haha. im too 'involved' in theme to concern myself over such trivial details….. reir

and the other questions were actually valid ones (we need new faq!!)……

oh….and i just love hobbits…cant get enough of them…..(that will teach you cangrejo)


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#12 legolas18

legolas18

    Member

  • Members
  • 328 posts

Posted 13 May 2013 - 10:54 AM

That's true Dam, there are already official rulings to all this. But for some reason, people like it better when they know for a fact that the developer has confirmed it. reir

Anyway, here it is, and Dam is correct.

No. Gloin's response triggers after you "play from hand" whereas Sneak attack reads "put an ally into play…" The difference between "play" and "put into play" is key here. To play an ally from hand, you must pay that ally's cost during the planning phase. That is the only time you can trigger Gloin's response.
Cheers,
Caleb


Playing an intense scenario, on the last stage, right when you notice you've been playing with two Bofurs the whole time.


#13 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,768 posts

Posted 13 May 2013 - 11:01 AM

legolas18 said:

That's true Dam, there are already official rulings to all this. But for some reason, people like it better when they know for a fact that the developer has confirmed it. reir

strangely thats true…….

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#14 tyveil

tyveil

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 21 May 2013 - 05:42 AM

I just had this same discussion on some cards in the AGOT LCG.

Same wording, same ruling.

It seems they could have cleared up a lot of confusion with better wording around the phrases "play from your hand" and "put into play".  Play is either an verb (play from your hand) or noun (put into play).  When it's a noun, you can't trigger responses.

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS