Why is 3e the best edition?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 gmanjkd

gmanjkd

• Members
  • 105 posts

Posted 08 May 2013 - 03:55 PM

I have little experience with 1st and 2nd Ed but would like to know why people PREFER 3e and what is it specifically that drives u to play 3e over prior editions?

Basically, is 3e your favorite Edition?

Why is 3e your favorite?

Thanks for the feedback.  I googled this and just found a bunch of hate directed toward 3e.

#2 k7e9

k7e9

• Members
  • 831 posts

Posted 08 May 2013 - 08:53 PM

gmanjkd said:

Basically, is 3e your favorite Edition?

Yes, without a doubt

gmanjkd said:

Why is 3e your favorite?

It's by far the best roleplaying game I've played. The dice system is working great, it's easy to teach and the cards makes sure that everyone knows what they can do. Also, it looks great.

#3 Emirikol

Emirikol

~Ĉiam subskribi antaŭ-nup kun Fimir

• Members
  • 5,066 posts

Posted 09 May 2013 - 07:31 AM

I prefer 3e to previous editions (see my comments in combat).

jh

#4 Yepesnopes

Yepesnopes

• Members
  • 1,336 posts

Posted 10 May 2013 - 04:54 AM

Well, I don’t think the 3rd edition is the best, but I can give you my opinion on where I think 3rd edition bests the previous editions. Since the question you pose wears an air of positivisms towards the 3rd edition, I will not mention where I think the 3rd edition fails, neither where I think it fails to evoke the atmosphere of the Old World.

What I find greatest of the 3rd edition are the submechanics for Critical Wounds, Corruption, Disease and Insanity (mechanics for the recovery times would need a bit more of thinking but this is minor). A RPG for the Old World needs these kind of rules. While previous editions have rules for this, their approach is by far worse than that given in the 3rd edition, which I confess I find brilliant.

I also find the career system better in this edition, more flexible.