Jump to content



Photo

Rule questions on a few 'tricky' situations


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 RazR

RazR

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 06 May 2013 - 01:01 AM

Hello everyone,
This weekend we've been able to play the third Act1 quest (Death on Wings) and the Interlude; everyone had great fun, but we did run in a few situations in which we really weren't able to determine the correct ruling.

Disclaimer: I own the Italian version of the game and I'm not familiar with the English names of all cards/monsters/etc, so please bear with me.
Feel free to point me to the correct name in the replies!

  1. When the OL moves a hero by using the 'Dark Seduction' OL card (which allows the OL to move the hero 'as if it were one of his monsters'), is the hero affected negatively by effects such as the 'Web' ability of the master cave spider?
  2. When a hero figure leaves the table for any reason, for example when exiting in the first encounter of Death on Wings, what happens to familiars controlled by the player? Is the player still able to control the familiar in subsequent turns, or since his figure left the table the player is not entitled to playing his turn and activating the familiar?
  3. What happens when a figure is moved to a lava space not during movement but because of other effects, such as the master ettin 'Throw' ability?
    Are they defeated or it doesn't count as 'ending their movement' on the lava space?
    Moreover, when such an effect forces the figure to be moved more than one space, does the figure take 1 damage for each lava space it passes through, since it counts as if the figure did move through all the spaces?
  4. Regarding lava and large monsters: the rulebook clearly states that they are automatically defeated only if all of the spaces they occupy are lava spaces, but I did not find anything explaining if and how they take damage when moving through lava spaces.
    Do they take damage only if their 'collapsed' form enters a lava space, 1 dmg for each space entered?

Thank you for your help!



#2 Unclechawie

Unclechawie

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 06 May 2013 - 03:26 AM

1. Dark Charm is the English name for the card in question.  To my knowledge this wouldn't be acceptable.  The OL can't force the hero to suffer fatigue.  Web requires that the hero suffer a fatigue to move.  Since moving him would require him to suffer in order to move, I would look at it as a payment instead of a side affect.  Thus, I don't believe the OL could move that hero from that space. 

2.  As far as I know, the hero would still be able to activate the familiar as normal.  The thought process would be similar to a knocked out hero.  His figure is technically off the board, with a token in the space he was knocked out in, but he can still activate his familiar as normal. 

3. Here's the text from the rule book:

Lava spaces are defined by a yellow line surrounding them.  Afigure entering a space containing lava immediately suffers one damage.  Any figure that ends its turn in a lava space is immediately defeated.  Heroes that are defeated in this way place their hero token in teh nearest empty space (from where they were defeated) that does not contain lava.  A large monster is immediately defeated only if all spaces it occupies are lava spaces.

Any figure that enters a lava space suffers one damage, unless their is some sort of ability or item preventing it (see Fire Fiend from Fire Imps).  So to use your example, if an Ettin throws a hero into the lava he suffers one damage.  The knock out for being in lava doesn 't check until the end of that players turn.  So, in your example, the hero would not be knocked out.  Fun side note, immobilize the hero and throw him into the lava.  Unless he can get rid of immobilize or find another way to move, he will be forced to stay in the lava and thus will be knocked out when his turn ends.

4. When it comes to large monsters, their movement is based on a 1X1 square.  This holds true even when they are moved by an affect a hero controls.  They only suffer damage if that 1X1 square they move into is a lava square.  If they simply rotate over a lava square, they do not suffer that damage as they are not consider to have moved into that square.  

Hope this helps.   



#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,291 posts

Posted 06 May 2013 - 03:30 AM

I'll disagree with the answer on #1. Dark Charm treats that hero as if it were one of the OL's monster. Does another monster suffer from Web ability of the  Cave Spider? No. So why would the hero treated like a monster suffer?


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 RazR

RazR

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 07 May 2013 - 12:59 AM

Thank you both!

For situation #1, we ended up interpreting the rules as Dam did, not causing the fatigue loss and allowing me as the OL to move the hero.
Any third opinion tipping the balance for Dark Charm?

 



#5 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 07 May 2013 - 01:15 AM

Your interpretation is correct. There's an unofficial FFG response thread on BGG that states the hero is treated as a monster when the OL uses this card. Also, I prefer 'Dark Seduction' over 'Dark Charm'. Sexier!



#6 Unclechawie

Unclechawie

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 07 May 2013 - 01:06 PM

Just FYI, Official confirmation from FFG.  The Dark Charmed Hero would NOT be subject to Web.



#7 RazR

RazR

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 08 May 2013 - 12:31 AM

Point 1# closed as well then :-)

Rico said:

Also, I prefer 'Dark Seduction' over 'Dark Charm'. Sexier!

That's the litteral translation of the Italian name of the card (which is 'Seduzione Oscura'). We Italians like it sexy :-P
And you can guess the jokes that go around when I cast it on my friends xD






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS