Jump to content



Photo

5K Renly and Icy Helm questions


  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Old Ben

Old Ben

    Member

  • Members
  • 612 posts

Posted 23 November 2008 - 09:52 PM

sonofthor:


I'm a new player and have a couple of questions about the 5Kings edition of Renly and Icy Helm. First, Renly states:

After you play Renly Baratheon from your hand, you may place her on your House card as your only Agenda with the text: "After a player claims power for his or her House, that player draws a card."

1) Does this agenda affect all players? Would everyone draw a card after claiming power?

2) I was reading another (complicated and over-my-head) thread about this card. They mentioned that this effect would not be activated after moving power from one house to another after winning a power challenge. Is that correct? So it is activated after claiming a power for unopposed or by some other effect that uses the word "claim"?

Next, about the Icy Helm, and this is going to seem a like a silly question I'm afraid:

Response: Kneel Icy Helm to save attached character from being killed or discarded.

3. So if I lose a military challenge can I choose to kill a character with the icy helm attached and just kneel that instead? I assume that to be the case, but I have a niggling feeling that I should make sure.

Thank you for your time!



staton_70:


Welcome to the game and the message boards!

OK. so 1) it does indeed effect all players, so whenever someone claims a power for their house, they draw a card. Let's say someone claims two power at once, with a card like I am King Here, they would get to draw 2 cards. Keep in mind though that there is a 3 card draw cap which means no player can draw more than three cards a round. The 2 cards you draw in the draw phase each turn does not count towards this rule.

2) OK this is kinda weird, but its right. When you claim power for unopposed challenges, Dominance, and any other time a card tells you to claim power, it comes from a "power pool." However, when you win a power challenge, you on moving a power from one house card to your house card. So you aren't claiming power from the "power pool" you are just moving a power that has already been claimed.

3) You are indeed correct. Being killed from military claim counts as being killed just as much as any other time a character is being killed.



Ktom:


sonofthor wrote:
I'm a new player and have a couple of questions about the 5Kings edition of Renly and Icy Helm. First, Renly states:

After you play Renly Baratheon from your hand, you may place her on your House card as your only Agenda with the text: "After a player claims power for his or her House, that player draws a card."

1) Does this agenda affect all players? Would everyone draw a card after claiming power?

Yes. All players would draw cards when claiming power for their House. This is because the text on the card says "after a PLAYER claims power..." instead of "after YOU claim power..." or something similar. There are a lot of cards that seem like they should only benefit the person who playes them, but because of wording like that, they benefit everyone. It can take some getting used to, particularly when you're new, just how much one word difference in a card's text can change the way it is played.

sonofthor wrote:
2) I was reading another (complicated and over-my-head) thread about this card. They mentioned that this effect would not be activated after moving power from one house to another after winning a power challenge. Is that correct? So it is activated after claiming a power for unopposed or by some other effect that uses the word "claim"?

This is a little confusing, but it is true. Renly only lets players draw cards when they "claim" power. However, when you win a power challenge, the challenge "claim" is technically MOVING power from one House to another. So it's the same word being used in different ways. The best way to remember it is that Renly only lets a player draw cards if the total power for ALL players increases (and that new power goes on a House card instead of a character, like for Renown).

sonofthor wrote:
Next, about the Icy Helm, and this is going to seem a like a silly question I'm afraid:

Response: Kneel Icy Helm to save attached character from being killed or discarded.

3. So if I lose a military challenge can I choose to kill a character with the icy helm attached and just kneel that instead? I assume that to be the case, but I have a niggling feeling that I should make sure.

That is indeed a good (and popular) use for effects that save characters from being killed. Icy Helm doesn't care HOW the character is being killed, only that it is being killed - which it then stops from happening.



sonofthor:


Thank you both for your lucid and prompt responses. It's a tribute to the game that the community is so friendly. Many thanks.

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS