Jump to content



Photo

Prey on the weak combined with fire breath


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Thamaire

Thamaire

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 02:46 AM

I've searched a lot here and there to find the answer about this one, so I am sorry if I am repeating a previous post.

Yesterday, me, my love and friends, played and at some point into the game, we ran into a bit of a conflict. I was the OL and I had in my choice of monsters the Hybrid sentinels. 

Here is the question :

-If the Hybrid Sentinel uses his fire breath on a hero who has 2 Might, does all the heroes affected in the fire breath suffers the additional damage even if they have higher than 2 Might? It might be the wording that makes me believe that it could be possible, because Prey on the weak states that if the target of the attack has 2 or fewer might, he suffers +1 damage. But then on Fire Breath, it is stated that ALL figures on it's path are "Affected" by the attack.  

So to resume, we are very curious about it since we can't find any kind of errata about it! Hope to hear about it soon!



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,272 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 03:21 AM

Yep, if you target a Might 1-2 hero, the Fire Breath will deal +1 dmg to all affected heroes.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,560 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 12:51 PM

There is only ever one target for a given attack, whichis the figure standing in the space you originally targeted.  Any other figures caught in an AoE ability are merely "affected."  Since Prey refers to the target's Might value, this is the only figure whose Might matters when determining whether or not the attack gains +1 damage.

Once the attack has +1 damage, that bonus damage applies equally to all affected figures.



#4 Thamaire

Thamaire

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 May 2013 - 10:49 AM

Thanks to the two of you! I knew from the rule book since the blast ability is described the same, but as the OL againsy a whole team of players, they were arguing with the logic of the rule and didn't want to let go of it. We played the game without it, and I still won "yay!" But now they have no choice but to believe me!

#5 gaarge

gaarge

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 03 May 2013 - 04:29 AM

And if one of the "affected" heroes has a cloak which can negate 1 surge, is this useable to cancel the firebreath? (which requires one surge)



#6 Unclechawie

Unclechawie

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 03 May 2013 - 05:33 AM

The cloak specifically says to cancel a surge on an attack that targets the equipped character.  So, no you would not be able to use it.

@ Steve-O, I believe there are a couple of attacks that allow you to target more than one space.  For instance, the Merriod can attack to specific characters.  To my knowledge they are both targeted, not just one targeted and one affected.



#7 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,560 posts

Posted 04 May 2013 - 02:34 AM

Unclechawie said:

@ Steve-O, I believe there are a couple of attacks that allow you to target more than one space.  For instance, the Merriod can attack to specific characters.  To my knowledge they are both targeted, not just one targeted and one affected.

Yes, you're right.  There are always exceptions to the general rules in a game like this, but I've found that offering an exhaustive list of cases which override the basic rule doesn't generally help to clarify things for new players.



#8 Unclechawie

Unclechawie

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 05 May 2013 - 12:05 PM

Steve-O said:

Unclechawie said:

 

@ Steve-O, I believe there are a couple of attacks that allow you to target more than one space.  For instance, the Merriod can attack to specific characters.  To my knowledge they are both targeted, not just one targeted and one affected.

 

 

Yes, you're right.  There are always exceptions to the general rules in a game like this, but I've found that offering an exhaustive list of cases which override the basic rule doesn't generally help to clarify things for new players.

 

Completely understood, but a blanket "ever only" or "always" statement is higly inaccurate in a game where the cards trump the normal rules.  A list of exceptions need not accompany the general rule of thumb, but a note that there are other times when the rules doesn't apply.

 

Anyways,  I always look forward to rules discussions as it betters my understanding of how to make judgement calls when the rules aren't always clear.  






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS