Jump to content



Photo

When is feint discarded?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 midwestborn86

midwestborn86

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 29 April 2013 - 06:39 PM

"Feint" and "thicket of spears" will stop an ememy or multiple enimies from attacking "this phase." Does this mean that these events are not resolved and are not discarded until the end of the combat phase?

The reason this is important is it will determine if Hama can attack and get the played feint or spears card back from the discard that phase. I'm assuming because these cards say "this phase" they do not completely resolve until the end of the phase.and therefore Hama would have to wait until the next turn to attack and get it back. This would require a hand with at least 2 feints and/or thickets to stop an attack or multiple attacks every turn.

It is possible that game and quest mechanics (if not now in the future) will allow enimies to attack in the combat phase but in a different step. After the declare attackers step for example. Hypothetically If they ever make a card that has a shadow effect or enemy with a forced effect that reads: "attacking enemy makes a second attack after the 'declare attackers' step then cards like feint and thicket of spears would need to be in play and not completely resolved and descarded until the end of phase. 

Therefore unless someone has something else to offer I'm assuming hama cannont retrieve a feint just played in the action window before declare defenders and attackers in the same round.



#2 Nerdmeister

Nerdmeister

    Member

  • Members
  • 670 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 01:21 AM

Definition of Event Cards:

"Event cards represent maneuvers, actions, tactics, spells, and other instantaneous effects at a player’s disposal. An event card is played from a player’s hand, its text effects are resolved, and the card is then placed in its owner’s discard pile."

Text on Feint: "Combat Action: Choose an enemy engaged with a player. That enemy cannot attack this phase."

I think I see where you´re coming from with this though I would say that the effect in this case is the choosing of an enemy after which feint would go to the discard pile and you can retrieve it. For that to be effective though you would have to find a way to attack outside the regular player attack phase, since normally all enemies attack before players have a chance to respond. You would also need an extra card to discard to get feint back into your hand. Sounds like a decent enough combo. But since it requires both ressources and a combo with an attack card (to attack outside normal phase), I don´t think it is overpowered.
 



#3 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,835 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 02:41 AM

im a little confused here….this is how i play hama+thicket/feint

enemy has has shadow card and so on. play feint//thicket. enemy cant attack event goes to discard.p when it is players turn to attack hama is declared an attacker and can take feint/thicket from discard and discard another card he controls….is this correct?


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#4 Nerdmeister

Nerdmeister

    Member

  • Members
  • 670 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 02:51 AM

Hmm seems I have been a bit over-analyzing the intent of the OP. The way rich describes it is how I´ve always played it.



#5 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,835 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 04:43 AM

yes, i think as far as my understanding as the OP goes, it is agreed forum-wide that hama provides a 'lock deck' that is very powerful. evidence for this being correct is that ffg errated thicket an feint to only target 1 player so it didnt kill durins bane

rich


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#6 midwestborn86

midwestborn86

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 08:50 AM

Ok the 'instantanious effects' might actually sell me on this. But the 'this phase' text in feint and thicket are what make me unsure. If the card is discarded at the end of the phase Hama can't get  it back THAT phase. Otherwise he can. I'm still not sure. So the concensus is Hama can retrieve a feint the same phase it was played then?



#7 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,835 posts

Posted 30 April 2013 - 09:55 AM

i sent an offical rules request for you…….

caleb got back to me in seconds….thanks! here it is

Hi Rich,
Unless an event card says otherwise, it should be discarded as soon as it is played. That would allow Hama to retrieve a Feint just used to prevent an enemy from attacking.
Cheers,
Caleb


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS