Jump to content



Photo

Lonely Mountain 2B and Smaug the Golden Question (Forced Effect timing)


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 arandhawa

arandhawa

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 28 April 2013 - 01:38 PM

I'm currently on quest 2B of the Lonely Mountain quest on the Hobbit: On the Doorstep and I have 5 progress tokens on Smaug the Golden. I then quest successfully and trigger the first Forced effect on quest 2B. This requires me to place a 6th progress token on Smaug the Golden, make a burgle attempt and if successful take a treasure under the Lonely Mountain and then move to Stage 3 if I want.

My question is.. After immediately placing the 6th token on Smaug the Golden do I

1)  immediately resolve his Forced effect (where after putting the 6th progress token on him I advance to stage 4A) and THEN finish up the rest of the first forced effect on 2B(make a burgle attempt,etc.)? If I do this and move to Stage 4A does that invalidate stage 2B's remaining effect since it's out of play?

or

2)do I finish the forced effect on Quest 2B (which after placing the 6th token on Smaug the Golden I would make a Burgle attempt and if successful take a treasure card under Lonely mountain and advance to stage 3) and then deal with Smaug the Golden's Forced effect of having placed the 6th progress token? If I do this second option wouldn't that invalidate Smaug the Golden's Forced Effect since by moving to Stage 3 I put him out of play and bring in Smaug the Magnificent?

 

Any help would be appreciated.

 

Thanks!



#2 Nerdmeister

Nerdmeister

    Member

  • Members
  • 544 posts

Posted 29 April 2013 - 01:12 AM

Ran into the same scenario the other night. We did it by putting 4A into play and ignoring the rest of the text on 2B.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS