Jump to content



Photo

Noob questions.


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 kalahari

kalahari

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 24 April 2013 - 07:19 AM

Hello guys, i recently bought BOW, and i played my first game and a lot of questions come to me while i was playing.

 

1) Retreat units: Does the attacker decides if the target unit have to retreat or no, or they have to always retreat as a result of a  a morale result rolled on the attack dice?

2) The only way to burn a terrain hex is with clegane and those who have the socrch the earth abilities given by a battleplan?

3) Commander card that states rally all units. That means that u can rally all of your units or only those of the Comander zone of the commander that you have played the card?

4) Addam Marband ability. When engaged, Addma's unit may execute a flank attack instead of a normal attack. For example you are attacking a desengaged unit with addam who is not engaged with anybody, rules said that you have to first place the engage token and then resolve the attack, does this trigger the ability when engaged of addam?. I understand that alll the attacks of addam they are going to count as a flank attack.

5) Does your turn end when you rally a unit with a order token o a commander card, or afeter rally i could give a move or attack order?

6) Could you sue only the tactic of a commander card without using the command?. If the answer is yes, do you have to discard the card after using the tactic?.

7) When you use a command card to order x units to move/attack, if you attack should you attack with all your ordered units the same target o i could spread the attack?

8) In a parting blow, could i pursue or advance?

9) If i attack with a melee unit from a forest a another unit in a plain, and i place my engage token i still have the maximum of two dice or i should use the plain combat text?. Because in the case of buildings when you attack from a hex containing a building another unit on another terrain, and you have to place your engage token you lose the cover 1. So in conclusion i think that terrain modifiers that you have to read are those where the defending unit is in.

10) Once i have to palce a devastation token on a hex because a terrain have reach its burn limit, should i remove the fire tokens or they are still on play with the same fire level?

 

Thanks.



#2 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 24 April 2013 - 06:19 PM

kalahari said:

1) Retreat units: Does the attacker decides if the target unit have to retreat or no, or they have to always retreat as a result of a  a morale result rolled on the attack dice?

2) The only way to burn a terrain hex is with clegane and those who have the socrch the earth abilities given by a battleplan?

3) Commander card that states rally all units. That means that u can rally all of your units or only those of the Comander zone of the commander that you have played the card?

4) Addam Marband ability. When engaged, Addma's unit may execute a flank attack instead of a normal attack. For example you are attacking a desengaged unit with addam who is not engaged with anybody, rules said that you have to first place the engage token and then resolve the attack, does this trigger the ability when engaged of addam?. I understand that alll the attacks of addam they are going to count as a flank attack.

5) Does your turn end when you rally a unit with a order token o a commander card, or afeter rally i could give a move or attack order?

6) Could you sue only the tactic of a commander card without using the command?. If the answer is yes, do you have to discard the card after using the tactic?.

7) When you use a command card to order x units to move/attack, if you attack should you attack with all your ordered units the same target o i could spread the attack?

8) In a parting blow, could i pursue or advance?

9) If i attack with a melee unit from a forest a another unit in a plain, and i place my engage token i still have the maximum of two dice or i should use the plain combat text?. Because in the case of buildings when you attack from a hex containing a building another unit on another terrain, and you have to place your engage token you lose the cover 1. So in conclusion i think that terrain modifiers that you have to read are those where the defending unit is in.

10) Once i have to palce a devastation token on a hex because a terrain have reach its burn limit, should i remove the fire tokens or they are still on play with the same fire level?

 

1. No, the unit must retreat if there are morale results. Also the errata contains new manditory retreat rules.

2. With the base set yes, besides the spreading of level 4 fire spreading. I believe Beric from BoB expansion has a special ability that can light stuff on fire.

3. Only units in the zone of control.

4. Are you asking can Adam have a flanking attack when counterattacking? I think you are, and yes I believe that he would be able to flank on a counterattack. Also, just so we're clear on counterattacks, you must have something that gives you that ability (like stalwart).

5. You can only place one order which would be the rally. You would have to wait until the next turn to attack or move.

6. Tactics are resolved after the you issue a command from that card. They also apply to the entire board.

7. I'm not sure what you're asking. The order goes like this: move all units, resolve attacks. There are optional rules in the errata that allow you to combine attacks. The errata can be found at the FAQ page for BoW.

8. No, parting blows and advance can only be made after an attack from that unit (pending conditions).

9. Rules clearly state that units in a forest hex get a maximum of 2 dice. Rules also clearly state a unit attacking a unit in a forest hex only get 2 dice. The situation with the building that you allude to can be thought of this way. If a unit attacks a unit in a building, the unit in the building is using it for cover/advantage so they keep the cover 1. If a unit is on a building hex, but attacks an adjacent unit, they forfeit the cover since they have to be outside of the building to attack.

10. Only way to remove a fire token is to put it out with a unit. Unless it's wild fire ;)

 

Others are more than welcome to correct if I have something wrong.

 



#3 kalahari

kalahari

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 25 April 2013 - 01:09 AM

Thx bright, 

 

about question 4, i am asking about addam ability that saids, when engaged addam units may execute a flank attack. My doubt is, for example you are not engaged with nobody with addam, then you proceed and attack a stark infantry that is not engaged with anybody. Does this attack count as flank attack because addam's ability?



#4 Mr_Brightside

Mr_Brightside

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 25 April 2013 - 08:33 AM

Yes. You will need to place an engagment token,  but the attack still flanks.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS