Jump to content



Photo

49 pages later


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Daegul

Daegul

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 12:40 AM

Because the search function doesn't…

 

Some questions not covered or seen in the FAQ (or above-noted 49 pages of forum):

 

Shared Pain & Magic Staff - If the staff does not do any damage (but does not miss), yet gets to use its surge ability to damage a nearby monster, does Shared Pain's effect happen; if so, to which monster group? This question applies to Blast victims as well…

 

Ancestor Spirits - Does this ability affect each figure affected by the triggering ability (Shared Pain for monsters, Vigor or Drain Spirit for heroes), or just 1? Also, for heroes, the card states that affected heroes gain 1 each health/fatigue; which of the following is correct for a hero that has been healed 3 health by Healing Rain? 1) The hero is healed 3 health and 3 fatigue. 2) The hero is healed 5 health and 1 fatigue.

 

 



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,609 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 02:53 AM

Daegul said:

Shared Pain & Magic Staff - If the staff does not do any damage (but does not miss), yet gets to use its surge ability to damage a nearby monster, does Shared Pain's effect happen; if so, to which monster group? This question applies to Blast victims as well…

Here's the text on Shared Pain, for reference:

"Action: Perform an attack.  If you deal at least 1 [Heart] (after rolling defense dice), each other figure in the target's monster group suffer's 1 [Heart]."

The operative word in this sentence is "target."  The target monster is the monster which occupies the target space of the attack.  Any attack has only one target space, additional affected figures due to AoE are not "targets."  Likewise, the secondary damage inflicted by magic staff does not make that monster a "target" either.

Therefore, the answer is that you must deal at least one [Heart] to the original target monster for this effect to kick in.  Only other monsters from the target's monster group will be affected.

Daegul said:

Ancestor Spirits - Does this ability affect each figure affected by the triggering ability (Shared Pain for monsters, Vigor or Drain Spirit for heroes), or just 1? Also, for heroes, the card states that affected heroes gain 1 each health/fatigue; which of the following is correct for a hero that has been healed 3 health by Healing Rain? 1) The hero is healed 3 health and 3 fatigue. 2) The hero is healed 5 health and 1 fatigue.

Ancestor Spirits does not use the word "target" therefore it can be applieed to any monster or hero who was affected by the other ability.  However, Ancestor spirits only works on "a monster" or "a hero."  Even if multiple figures are affected by the other ability, you can only choose one to be affected by Ancestor Spirits.

A hero healed for 3 health by Healing Rain would gain a total of 4 health and 1 fatigue with Ancestor Spirits thrown in.



#3 Daegul

Daegul

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 April 2013 - 08:14 AM

Hmmm.  Seems from a letter of the law viewpoint, the requirement is met simply by doing damage (no target is specified for to whom damage need be applied); but the spirit of the ability is certainly to damage the target of the attack.

 

Your interpretation of Ancestor Spirits matches the precise wording, but 1 heart + 1 fatigue or 1 poison victim for 3 XP and 1 fatigue per use seems out of balance.  One might argue that you're paying for flexibility, but that's still quite steep.  Not actually argueing on this one, just complaining. ;)



#4 marc477

marc477

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 April 2014 - 11:07 PM

What about the Bard skill: Concentration (Shadow of Nerekhall):

"Exaust this card when a hero within 3 spaces of you recovers 1 or more hearth. That hero recovers 2 additional hearth."

Does it follow the same rules then Ancestor's Spirit ? Do all the heroes recover 2 hearth if they did recover hearths from the same skill?



#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,609 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 06:17 AM

What about the Bard skill: Concentration (Shadow of Nerekhall):

"Exaust this card when a hero within 3 spaces of you recovers 1 or more hearth. That hero recovers 2 additional hearth."

Does it follow the same rules then Ancestor's Spirit ? Do all the heroes recover 2 hearth if they did recover hearths from the same skill?


No, that skill targets "a hero." One hero. "That hero" gains an additional 2 health.
If the healing effect in question gave health to multiple heroes, this skill would only affect one of them.

If there are multiple heroes affected that are within 3 of the bard, the bard chooses which hero gets +2 health.

#6 marc477

marc477

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 06:43 AM

But both cards uses the same words: "when a hero" and "that hero". I don't see why it has different targets



#7 Underworld40k

Underworld40k

    Member

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 06:53 AM

For me Its the triggering condition that invalidates the use of it on multiple heroes.

3 heroes within 3 of the bard regain health from the same source, so you exhaust the card and pick 'a' (singular) hero, and that chosen hero gains  + 2 hearts.

Go to repeat the process for the 2nd hero (who still meets the condition) and the card is already exhausted.
 



#8 Radish

Radish

    Member

  • Members
  • 129 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 07:01 AM

Honestly I think that both abilities only target a single hero but it's not really super clear...  I wouldn't gauge the power of an ability by its XP cost though since some of the level threes are downright bad, especially on early characters.



#9 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 10:12 AM

FYI: FFG has said that Ancestor Spirits affects either all monsters or all heroes:

http://boardgamegeek...icial_FAQ#toc12

 

So I'd agree that Concentration would follow the same rule.



#10 amoshias

amoshias

    Member

  • Members
  • 132 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 10:47 AM

Yeah, Steve-o - how could you POSSIBLY have missed the stealth errata on Ancestor Spirits? After all, it's been in all the FAQs and they've issued an updated card... oh wait, no. It's on an obscure thread on the BGG site.

 

But yes, according to the errata, you use Ancestor Spirits in response to an event, and it modifies everything which had been impacted by the event - IE, it should read:

 

"Use this card when a monster suffers at least 1 heart from one of your abilities or a hero recovers 1 heart or 1 stamina from one of your abilities. All monsters which suffered 1 heart from that ability are poisoned. All heroes which recovered hearts or stamina recover 1 heart and 1 stamina.

 

Man, these guys are so good at managing a game. And Griton - no, Concentration wouldn't do the same thing, because this isn't a rule, it's errata. Because if it's a rule - that "A hero" means "any number of heroes" then the game breaks in half, as does grammar, logic, and my brain.


  • Lunatic Zouzouna likes this

#11 Radish

Radish

    Member

  • Members
  • 129 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 11:13 AM

Personally I feel if FFG isn't confident enough in an errata to put it up on their own site (and use the kludgey mess that is boardgamesgeek) I feel it can be safely ignored.


Edited by Radish, 02 April 2014 - 11:14 AM.


#12 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,609 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 08:20 PM

Yeah, Steve-o - how could you POSSIBLY have missed the stealth errata on Ancestor Spirits? After all, it's been in all the FAQs and they've issued an updated card... oh wait, no. It's on an obscure thread on the BGG site.


Indeed.

My post concerning Ancestor Spirits was also made close to a year ago. But please, let's not let the fact that Marc necroposted a thread from ages ago stop people from pointing out how FFG has since issued new clarifications that might contradict me.
 
FWIW, even if FFG has since ruled that AS can affect multiple monsters/heroes, I personally disagree with that ruling.  The language on that card (and on this Bard skill) seem fairly clear to me that it only affects one figure.  I guess I'll be calling that a house rule from now on.
 

But both cards uses the same words: "when a hero" and "that hero". I don't see why it has different targets


Perhaps one of us has misunderstood something. Both Ancestor Spirits and Concentration affect a single figure (IMHO.) Healing Rain is the skill from my age-old discussion that affects multiple heroes. The question back then was about how Healing Rain and Ancestor Spirits interact. I said HR would do its thing for everyone and AS would add on to one hero, which is exactly what I was just saying today about Concentration adding on to a multi-heal ability (like HR, for example.)

Also note, as Griton points out, that FFG has apparently since issued a clarification about Ancestor Spirits in the unofficial FAQ which I was previously unaware of. If you choose to go with that ruling, then I would agree that Concentration should work the same way, for consistency if nothing else.

Edited by Steve-O, 02 April 2014 - 08:34 PM.


#13 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 380 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 09:57 PM

edit: nevermind... old thread


Edited by BentoSan, 02 April 2014 - 09:59 PM.


#14 amoshias

amoshias

    Member

  • Members
  • 132 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 10:33 PM

 

Yeah, Steve-o - how could you POSSIBLY have missed the stealth errata on Ancestor Spirits? After all, it's been in all the FAQs and they've issued an updated card... oh wait, no. It's on an obscure thread on the BGG site.


Indeed.

My post concerning Ancestor Spirits was also made close to a year ago. But please, let's not let the fact that Marc necroposted a thread from ages ago stop people from pointing out how FFG has since issued new clarifications that might contradict me.
 
 

Didn't notice it was a year old. In any case:

 

1. I wasn't ragging on you, at all - I guess my tone didn't come through. I was sarcastically attempting to indicate that it is extremely easy for even people invested in this game to not notice the change.

 

2. FFG needs to learn the difference between a clarification and errata. Clarification is when you're making something clear. They're not "clearing up" Splig's placement in the Finale to Shadow Rune, for instance - they're changing it. Nothing wrong with changing/rebalancing stuff, but calling it a clarificaiton is just dumb.

 

The same is true here. There is NOTHING unclear about Ancestor Spirits. Not only that, but if this is a "clarification," then it is a ruling which can in theory be applied to other cards. And if you apply it to other cards, like I said above, the game breaks in half - there's just too much stuff that this can be applied to. Treat it as errata - errata for a card which is really, really weak, to bring it slightly more in line with other 3-point abilties.



#15 C2K

C2K

    Member

  • Members
  • 128 posts

Posted 02 April 2014 - 11:57 PM

To be fair to Steve-O, I don't think there was an errata/faq out yet when he made those posts over a year ago.  ;)



#16 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 09:02 AM

"Use this card when a monster suffers at least 1 heart from one of your abilities or a hero recovers 1 heart or 1 stamina from one of your abilities. All monsters which suffered 1 heart from that ability are poisoned. All heroes which recovered hearts or stamina recover 1 heart and 1 stamina.

Not quite. FFG has clarified that you get to use the card for EITHER the monsters OR the heroes, but not both. There are two separate sections of the card that can be used; using one exhausts the card and makes it unavailable for using the other.

 

All FFG has done is clarify/errata that if the triggering condition involved multiple figures, the affect can apply to all that were involved. However, you still can only choose one of the sections on the card to activate, even if both were triggered at the same time.


Edited by griton, 03 April 2014 - 09:05 AM.


#17 amoshias

amoshias

    Member

  • Members
  • 132 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 09:55 AM

Where do you see that, Griton? I've never seen that clarification of the errata... For discussion's sake, here  is the line from the "FFG Sez" thread on BGG:

 

"With Ancestor Spirits, any ability that damages multiple monsters will Poison each damaged monster, and any ability that allows damage or fatigue recovery for multiple heroes will recover 1 damage and 1 fatigue for each affected hero."

 

At least according to this, something like Tempest would trigger both halves. I don't doubt for a second Justin wasn't thinking about that when he issued the errata, of course, so...


Edited by amoshias, 03 April 2014 - 10:16 AM.


#18 marc477

marc477

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 10:31 AM

Since "unofficial" is unofficial.  I think we will play that both concentration and ancestors spirit target only ONE hero (or monster). Because the card says "that hero" in its singular form.



#19 marc477

marc477

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 10:32 AM

FFG should make an Errata about Ancestor's Spirit



#20 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 04 April 2014 - 08:40 AM

Where do you see that, Griton? I've never seen that clarification of the errata... For discussion's sake, here  is the line from the "FFG Sez" thread on BGG:

 

"With Ancestor Spirits, any ability that damages multiple monsters will Poison each damaged monster, and any ability that allows damage or fatigue recovery for multiple heroes will recover 1 damage and 1 fatigue for each affected hero."

I believe it was posted on here a while back, but may have not made it over to BGG. But the way the card reads, it certainly implies it. The card doesn't say "Whenever a monster receives damage or a hero regains fatigue, exhaust this card." It has two separate pieces. The clarification from FFG lists two separate cases too, calling out "any ability" twice, so I'm leaning heavily towards that not contradicting the separation of uses on the card as written.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS