Jump to content



Photo

Corner Movement


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 scarey33

scarey33

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 April 2013 - 10:57 PM

Please clarify! Where two map peices are joined creating a thick black border line, which starts at an edge and ends inside a movement space (partially breaking its border so in that corner of the square, no two white border lines meet)….can a player move upwards diagonally from the space which is completely blocked at the top by the thick black border, to the space that is ketty-corner to it where that thick black border line ends inside?

I was not quite sure how to word this without visual aid. Hopefully this can be cleared up. Thank you!



#2 scarey33

scarey33

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 April 2013 - 12:52 AM

scarey33 said:

He can move diagonally to cover more ground. Players should note that the black edge of the map tile does not block diagonal movement around corners

- Official Rulebook



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,552 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 03:05 AM

A figure can move from one space ot any adjacent space that isn't occupied by an enemy figure or an obstacle.  According to the rulebook, the definition of "adjacent" is that the two spaces must share an edge or a corner (as defined by the white lines.)  Also note, a closed door breaks adjacency.

If the tile artwork has a thick black border without white lines inside and the join of the two tiles is such that there is no common edge or corner drawn in white lines between the two spaces, then those two spaces are NOT adjacent and the figure cannot move diagonally across them.  If, however, there is still a common edge or corner (as is often the case regarding inside corners defined by the edge of a single tile) then you're good to go.



#4 RazR

RazR

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 April 2013 - 01:24 AM

Just for confirmation, taking tile 17B (L-shaped) as an example:

OO
OO
OOOO
OOOO

Can you move diagonally on the inside corner of the map?
According to Steve-O's answer, I'd say no, since the two spaces shares a single black corner. Is this correct?



#5 RazR

RazR

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 April 2013 - 01:26 AM

Just to be clear on the art of the tile, I've picked up a quest which uses tile 17B in the second encounter:

http://tools.fantasy...htmlpreview/73/



#6 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,552 posts

Posted 22 April 2013 - 08:35 AM

RazR said:

Just for confirmation, taking tile 17B (L-shaped) as an example:

OO
OO
OOOO
OOOO

Can you move diagonally on the inside corner of the map?
According to Steve-O's answer, I'd say no, since the two spaces shares a single black corner. Is this correct?

Blimey, I'm a bit surprised we've been playing so long and not noticed that those corners are blacked out, too. =P

Yes, you can cut diagonally across that corner, which I suppose means you can cut diagonally across all corners so long as the wall doesn't completely divide the two orthogonal spaces.



#7 schmoo34

schmoo34

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 24 April 2013 - 06:54 AM

So much analysis over triviality…does it make sense for your gaming group or doesn't it?  That is all that matters.



#8 builderChris

builderChris

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 24 April 2013 - 12:27 PM

schmoo34 said:

So much analysis over triviality…does it make sense for your gaming group or doesn't it?  That is all that matters.

 

yup.  in our group, when in doubt we roll it out.  if some players think the rule is one way and others think its another way we roll a d6 high roll wins..thats it.

 



#9 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 25 April 2013 - 09:30 PM

One can move around corners, even if the dark artwork slightly spills further into the terrain tiles.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#10 Grillarco

Grillarco

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 25 April 2013 - 10:18 PM

Hello, in our group we have decided to consider the black edge (tile border or created by linking tiles) as blocking for LOS and Move purposes only where it completely occupy a space edge (from corner to corner). So between two spaces orthogonally placed the black line is a blocking obstacle, between two spaces diagonally placed it is not, even in a situation where the black line partially overcome the corner or the white line is not continuous. Until a FAQ doesnt say differently we have decicde to rule so to keep play mobility and LOS possibilities at the maximum. Hope this could help.



#11 magicWALLIS

magicWALLIS

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 26 April 2013 - 12:57 AM

There's a movement example on page 9 of the rule book that shows that you can move across corners.  It's the same as moving diagonally between figures or obstacles.  I'll admit me and my gaming group were also a little thrown at first.



#12 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 26 April 2013 - 04:24 AM

magicWALLIS said:

There's a movement example on page 9 of the rule book that shows that you can move across corners.  It's the same as moving diagonally between figures or obstacles.  I'll admit me and my gaming group were also a little thrown at first.

Here is the movement example :

dia

Note the final remark of example 3 : "the black edge of the map tile does not block diagonal movement around corners."


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS