Jump to content



Photo

Simultaneous effect resolution


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 chiller087

chiller087

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 17 April 2013 - 10:06 AM

The FAQ says:

"If a single effect affects multiple players simultaneously, but the players must individually make choices to resolve the effect, the player who played or executed the effect chooses first, with priority then proceeding clockwise around the table."

 

In the case of A New Hope, would this mean the player who played A New Hope must make all his choices first? Specifically in the case of a game where X-Wing Escort and Devastator were on the table, could the LS player bring the Escort back to their hand first, before the DS player had a chance to bring any of their units back into their hand, thus triggering the Escort's reaction and destroying Devastator? (assuming the DS player had no other vehicles on the table)

 

Micah



#2 theChony

theChony

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 17 April 2013 - 10:43 AM

Hope this isn't a double post…

 

Since the FAQ says CHOOSE, I think if LS plays A New Hope, they would first choose their units. Next, DS chooses their units. Then per the card units simultaneously go back into their hands. There should be no one at a time actions here.

 

Haven't seen this one before, would like to hear more thoughts.



#3 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,289 posts

Posted 17 April 2013 - 10:47 AM

The effect still happens simultaneously, but the choices are made in the order described. In that case, while the LS player would choose to return the Escort before the DS player chooses to return to Devastator, they would leave play simultaneously. Important note though: the Escort's ability is an interrupt and resolves before the Escort (and thus the Devestator) has left play.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS