Ship Design Questions

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Aldyramon

Aldyramon

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 16 April 2013 - 12:54 AM

So I will play in a RT Campaign soon and I studied to books. So far I most things are pretty clear rules-wise. But since I never played Rogue Trader before I lack the expierience to determine if some things are worth or feasable in the game. My Questions are more or less focused on Ship Design, but since I don't know how many SP we will get, they are mostly of a theoretical nature.

1. How importent is Speed, more specific: Can a too high Speed hinder your potential in Spip Combat? Seeing that you have to move half Speed, I imagine it would be rather hard for a Speed 11 ship to stay behind a Speed 4 Cruiser, but I don't really know if that is really an issue.

2. How "common" are Archaeotech Components? Is it rather normal to start with 1-2 Archaeotech Components (seeing that the RT Example Ship has one) or are that more the exception than the norm? (strictly speaking of PC Ships)

3. I played arround with designing some ships, but it seems to me, that a smaller ship like a raiders or the smaller frigates have barely room left after essential components and weapons, even when opting for some low quality parts. Imho is an modified Archaeotech Engine pretty much a must-have because of the Space-Cost reduction. Other than putting in mostly "good" or best Craftmanship parts, I don't have Space or Power for some sublemental components.

4. Are Lances worth the huge power+space cost in smaller ships? the technicly fit in a raider, but I would like to have some room for additional stuff.

6. How usefull are Landing Bays/Small Crafts in the game? How difficult are they to maintain, since I ruled out Torpedoes due to their ammo availbility.

5. Are there any must-have components?