Jump to content



Photo

Exploding!!!


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Tunnelhckrat

Tunnelhckrat

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 11 April 2013 - 05:56 PM

When Exactly can dice rolls explode? Im under the impression that every roll except movement or a chart. Is this accurate? What about on the chaos manufactrum? if you play a power card witha 6, does it explode? what about a 5 with either ratling or sob?



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,272 posts

Posted 11 April 2013 - 07:18 PM

No, only skill tests and combat rolls can explode, nothing more. I've been curious about the Maze of Tzeentch space, since it's a test, but not a skill test per se, and whether or not you could explode or just a Power card in it. Send in a question to FFG via official channels, but as per the reply, they are collecting questions for a FAQ and not answering them individually at this time.

Rules state a Power card used instead of die roll can explode (provided you play one with a high enough number on it of course).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 fayezm

fayezm

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 23 April 2013 - 12:12 PM

They way we've played is that we treat the cunning, wisdom and stregth spaces in the inner tier as skill checks, so you can use power cards & exploding dice.

The level check on the final space is not a skill check so really, you cannot use power cards AND you cannot explode. 

In regards to other text boxes (such as the Mutant) etc, they are just a single die role to resolve, no power cards/exploding

 



#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,272 posts

Posted 23 April 2013 - 07:11 PM

fayezm said:

They way we've played is that we treat the cunning, wisdom and stregth spaces in the inner tier as skill checks, so you can use power cards & exploding dice.

The level check on the final space is not a skill check so really, you cannot use power cards AND you cannot explode. 

Don't think there is any argument either way with the Slaanesh, Nurgle and Khorne spaces on the inner tier, they even follow the formula set in the rules of "test X", like Test Willpower 14. Maze (level test) has to be a test of some sort, but rules only mention a skill test.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#5 zealot12

zealot12

    Member

  • Members
  • 742 posts

Posted 23 April 2013 - 07:11 PM

I agree, the Maze space doesn't test an attribute, so it's not a skill roll, and thus Power cards can't be used to modify the score, or explode,

It needs to be officially clarified, though.

 Any rolls outside of   battle and skill tests  can't explode and cannnot  be modiified by power cards either.

As for movement, you may use a power card to move a number of spaces equal to the power number on the card, but this result cannot explode, since it's not a skill or battle roll.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS