Jump to content



Photo

Did they ever rule on


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 chiller087

chiller087

    Member

  • Members
  • 122 posts

Posted 11 April 2013 - 10:03 AM

Whether Boba Fett will capture a Guardian of Peace if the Guardian uses its Protect trait to absorb damage from another character?

 

Micah



#2 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,355 posts

Posted 11 April 2013 - 01:37 PM

Yes it will be captured assuming it doesn't die. 



#3 shaggscoob

shaggscoob

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 11:01 AM

Toqtamish said:

Yes it will be captured assuming it doesn't die. 

Wouldn't it still be captured, even if it was enough damage to kill it?



#4 just Logan

just Logan

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 01:04 PM

 it's a reaction so it wouldn't stop them from going to discard- also it's optional 

 



#5 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,429 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 03:20 PM

shaggscoob said:

Toqtamish said:

Yes it will be captured assuming it doesn't die. 

Wouldn't it still be captured, even if it was enough damage to kill it?

Nope, they are destroyed immediately when they have enough damage to kill them, which happens before you can use reactions to damaging them.

#6 shaggscoob

shaggscoob

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 05:11 AM

dbmeboy said:
shaggscoob said:

Toqtamish said:

Yes it will be captured assuming it doesn't die. 

Wouldn't it still be captured, even if it was enough damage to kill it?

Nope, they are destroyed immediately when they have enough damage to kill them, which happens before you can use reactions to damaging them.
Ah ok, good to know, thanks. Just for reference, does anyone know where that ruling can be found?

#7 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,429 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 05:46 AM

Honestly, I think I may have been the one to get the rules response on it, I'll look through my inbox and see if I have it (at least the destroyed before captured part). Do you need an official ruling on that part though?

#8 alpha5099

alpha5099

    Member

  • Members
  • 561 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 05:06 PM

It's in the FAQ:

 

If I damage an opponent’s unit with (Core 0019) and deal enough damage to destroy the unit, do I capture or destroy the unit?
The unit is destroyed. Boba Fett’s ability is a reaction that captures a unit. The damage from the combat icons is applied to the unit and that unit is immediately discarded if it has damage equal to or greater than its damage capacity. You may not capture units from an out of play state (such as the discard pile) unless specifically noted otherwise by a card effect.


#9 shaggscoob

shaggscoob

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 17 April 2013 - 08:46 PM

Thanks, I guess I missed that FAQ entry.  That clarifies it nicely.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS