Jump to content



Photo

Critical opinions?


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Gamerunner

Gamerunner

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:48 AM

I ran a tough fight against a Hutt the other night, and found that the only thing buying the pcs some time were their ability to inflice some crits that slowed it down. I think I miss called it but it ran well anyway and all had an exciting and fun adventure, but….

Can you inflict a "critical injury" (by spending the appropriate advantages) without dealing any damage first?

I said yes, rather than spending time searching for the "raw" that I could not find even after the fact.

What are your opinions on the matter? Thanks in advance.



#2 LethalDose

LethalDose

    Member

  • Members
  • 782 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 12:04 PM

Why does it matter if you're dealing damage first?  I assume this means dealing damage before or after the critical injury is assigned/resolved.  The Beta patch notes (pg 7) explicitly state that critical hits can only be triggered on successful hits that deal damage in excess of the targets soak value.  You can also only trigger one crit/hit.

So… I don't think it matters if you say the target takes damage before or after the crit is rolled, since crits don't cause damage, and if a strike deals enough damage to incapacitate a target AND has symbols to activate a crit, you can still only activate the crit once.

But everytime you activate a crit, you are ALSO dealing damage (either wound or strain, depending on the attack).

-WJL


"All models are wrong, but some models are useful."  - George E. P. Box





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS