Jump to content



Photo

Reinforcements and "What's Yours is Mine"


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Zogwort

Zogwort

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:43 AM

Hey everyone I am getting ready to meet up with my pals to continue our Descent campaign. Tonight we will begin by playing the quest from the Layer of the Wyrm expansion "What's Yours is Mine." Since I am the Overlord and own the game, I was just skimming through the rules for that quest and I noticed something interesting. Under the Reinforcement rule for this quest, it does not include the phrase "respecting group limits." This is not the case in any previous quests we have already played and after skimming through the base game quest book and the expansion quest book and all other quests say that group limits are to be respected. Since the Reinforcement rule varies from quest to quest, I am thinking that this is a caveat unique to this quest. But then again… it could also be a typo lol! I thought I'd reach out to the community and hopefully get a response before tonight's game begins!

So just to illustrate my point, there are 3 heroes playing. Therefore I will be using 2 Hybrid Sentinels (1 master, 1 minion) and the open group I'm choosing will be a Shadow Dragon (1 master). Since the Reinforcements rule in this particular quest does not say I must respect group limits, does that mean that at the beginning of my turn I may place a minion Hybrid Sentinal or a minion Shadow Dragon in play on the exit tile, even though all of my starting monsters are alive on the board?

BTW the exact wording of the Reinforcement rule in this quest is:

"At the beginning of each overlord turn, he may place either 1 monster from his open group or 1 hybrid sentinel on the Exit."

No mention of group limits, unlike most other quests.

Thanks!



#2 Zogwort

Zogwort

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:51 AM

Sorry I can't seem to edit my original post. 

Just looked up the FAQ and didn't see errata regarding this, so I am leaning towards the additional monsters being intentional. Still though, I am curious if anyone else has noticed this and how did they decide to play this quest out. :)



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,551 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 03:05 PM

I don't have my quest guide in front of me right now, but I believe there was something about reinforcements on the inside cover of the main quest guide.  Despite not technically being part of the actual rulebook, I haven't seen any indication that those rules are only intended for the core game's quests.

Now, I may be misremembering this, mind you, but I believe the rules found on the inside cover mention something about reinforcements being required to respect group limits unless the quest specifically says otherwise.  This quest does not explicitly say that group limits must be respected, but it also doesn't explicitly say they can be ignored.



#4 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 10:37 PM

Yes, group limits are considered as to be respected unless otherwise indicated.

Here is the Reinforcements paragraph (Quest Guide, p. 2) :

 

The reinforcernents section explains how the overlord receives reinforcernents (additional monsters). Unless specifically noted otherwise, the overlord can never add a monster to the map in excess of the monster group limit (size and composition allowed by the number of heroes listed on the back of that Monster card). ln many cases, this means that the overlord cannot bring new monsters onto the map until the heroes have defeated ar least one. This is referred to as "respecting group limits." If a reinforcing monster cannot be placed as indicated in this section because the tile is full, the monster is placed in the closest empty space(s) instead.

An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS