X-Wing Tournament Report Colorado Springs, CO 4/6/2013 Gamers Haven

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 GenmaSeuss

GenmaSeuss

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 08 April 2013 - 09:34 PM

So I am a game store manager in Loveland Colorado so I don’t often get to compete at games that I enjoy.  I did however find that I could go to this event in Colorado Springs which was a regional event.  While I don’t have any aspirations to go to Worlds (I am nowhere near a playgroup that I can playtest as much as I would need to do to be a great player), I thought this would be a great gaming experience.  Now I recently made friends with a local gentleman named Lee Lahti who was kind enough to drive me to Colorado Springs to attend with his son Sean.  Now Lee and I have been doing some play-testing in Fort Collins at Haunted Game café on Mondays.  We are usually only able to get in 1-2 games a week which to me isn’t great play-testing, but I think it’s enough for a new/expensive miniature game.  So we left from Ft. Collins at around 8:45 am, the event started at 12:00pm.  Yeah, that is quite a haul for a tournament that I wasn’t super serious about.  We get there and I have some Arby’s for breakfeast.  Gamer’s Haven is a pretty decent store all things considered.  They are primarily a gaming store with a focus on Miniature Wargames (Flames of War, and Warhammer) they do however have a good collection of board games, as well as a good collection of role-playing games, supplies, and a smattering of trade paperback comics.  What they had 0 of was X-Wing miniatures because the game is really over with the players in Colorado Springs.  In my neck of the woods people see it as an expensive game, or it just hasn’t caught on, but in Springs it is insanely popular.  So I was becoming worried that I was really going to get the pain brought to me for my inexperienced play.  Play eventually started at 12:30pm.  We had 21 in attendance.  The TD did his best to not pair us up with