Jump to content



Photo

Crossbow move surge ability and blocking all damage


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 nietger

nietger

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 April 2013 - 03:26 AM

crossbow


Q: If a hero equiped with a crossbow spends a surge on the crossbow's second surge ability, can he still move the monster if the monster blocks all damage?

note : I don't want to consider any cases about a miss. I want to consider all cases where no X is rolled on the blue dice, and range is sufficient.



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,272 posts

Posted 07 April 2013 - 04:18 AM

Yes, it's not a Condition, so you can do it and move the monster even if dealing no actual damage. Set up your Runemaster buddy for those Blast attacks…


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 ixNine

ixNine

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 May 2013 - 01:33 PM

Sorry for adding on with my own questions in regards to calculating damage. 
When calculating damage, can you use the surges before subtracting shields on die rolls to add to the total damage, or must you deal damage first before being able to apply surges to buff an attack?

 

e.g.:

I roll a blue and yellow die.
I dealt 4 hearts total and rolled one surge. Let's say that I'm still using the weapon from the picture.
The opposing enemy rolled four shields. 

Currently, the damage is negated, but can I use the surge to deal the extra two damage still?

 

Thanks in advance for the answers.



#4 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 16 May 2013 - 01:46 PM

Please refer to the above answer.  I think you are applying Condition logic to your Attacks. Don't.



#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,554 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 02:09 AM

ixNine said:

Sorry for adding on with my own questions in regards to calculating damage. 
When calculating damage, can you use the surges before subtracting shields on die rolls to add to the total damage, or must you deal damage first before being able to apply surges to buff an attack?

All damage from the attack (including that added by surge effects or other hero abilities) is totalled before subtracting shields rolled in defense.  Surges can always be spent if they have been rolled, provided you have something to spend them on.

The only thing that is conditional upon wounds being suffered by the target are Conditions (Poisoned, Immobilized, Stunned, or Diseased, in the base game.)  That is all.

So, supposing you had a weapon with the ability "(Surge): Stunned" and the target has rolled sufficient shields to negate all damage.  You can still spend the surge on this ability if you want to, but the target will not be Stunned because he didn't suffer any wounds.  I'm not saying it would be wise, but the point is you can always spend surges.



#6 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 04:34 AM

Yes. Dam gave the good answer outright.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS