Jump to content



Photo

Critical Blow


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Trampsvest1980

Trampsvest1980

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 09:59 PM

Hello all

I was playing a fat goblin and as the overlord I played critical blow.

This attack gains a serge +3 damage

What a great basic card!!!

My question is can you use this card even if your attack failed to roll a serge to add 3 additional points of damage ? Or does the +3 damage for the serge replace the existing serge damage on the monster card? ie you need to roll a serge to use this card?



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,295 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 10:05 PM

Of course you still need a surge. Critical Blow doesn't replace any of the monster's own surge, it adds another option for which to use a surge. Personal favourite is the Act II master Shadow Dragon. Roll an attack that gets 2 surges, Dark Might for +1 surge, then use the surges for total +6 dmg (CB and the other +3 from SD itself) and Fire Breath (easily 10+ dmg on several characters) reir . But CB is also good for monsters without any innate surge abilities (Sorcerers, Ice Wyrms).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 The Overlord

The Overlord

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 April 2013 - 11:15 AM

Critical blow does not give you a surge, it only gives you an extra option to spend a surge, giving +3 damage. If you roll an X you cannot deal damage as your attack missed. If you hit and have an extra surge (or Dark Might), use it!!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS