Jump to content



Photo

Hanging gardens : may or have to ?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Itchi

Itchi

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 03 April 2013 - 12:49 AM

Here is the point.

Are you forced to build a free unit at your start of the turn ? 

The case is : If the army you build is in range of ennemi armies and you know you will lose the figth… Same if, for exemple, you already build your 6 armies and they stand far away, so you can (or have to, that's the question…) only build a scout that will be in range of ennemi armies.

The text : "Start of the turn : Build a figure in the square containing the Hanging gardens for free."

There is no "may" or "can" or "have to". But it's conjugated at the imperative… even if my personnal opinion is to allow the player to choose not build a figure if he don't want to. 



#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 550 posts

Posted 03 April 2013 - 09:04 AM

I'd have to say that I agree. Even though RAW would suggest that you must, It would be more logical to allow the owner of this (or any) Wonder to choose wether to use the wonders ability or not.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 Tibs

Tibs

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,596 posts

Posted 04 April 2013 - 04:55 PM

I would read that as optional. At the start of turn, you can use this wonder's ability.

There is a certain Great Person card that gives you a larger benefit for more unbuilt army figures (Turing, I think), so there is at least one pertinent scenario.



#4 Itchi

Itchi

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 16 May 2013 - 01:33 AM

Got an official answer about it : 

 

Quote
Hanging garden : Forced to build a free figure or can you abord the ability ?

You can choose not to take the figure.

 

Lukas Litzsinger

Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS