Jump to content



Photo

Stealthing past the Shore


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 PlebeianMaw

PlebeianMaw

    Member

  • Members
  • 133 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 03:59 AM

In what way are Naval Enhancement characters affected by stealth?  The Foxes Teeth?

It is my assumption that because tehy cannot be 'declared' as defenders in these cases, that whether or not it is in the framework doesn't matter.



#2 Bomb

Bomb

    Cool Person Club

  • Members
  • 1,778 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 04:14 AM

PlebeianMaw said:

 

In what way are Naval Enhancement characters affected by stealth?  The Foxes Teeth?

It is my assumption that because tehy cannot be 'declared' as defenders in these cases, that whether or not it is in the framework doesn't matter.

 

 

Declaring naval attackers/defenders is still declaring attackers/defenders for all purposes.  Therefore stealthing a naval enhanced character will keep them from being declared as a naval defender.



#3 doulos2k

doulos2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 246 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 04:30 AM

However, Naval Enhanced characters can be declared as Defenders BEFORE the Stealth Framework starts. So, in essence, if you want to use a Naval Character (like, say a 7 STR Fleet) then you can declare that defender before the attacker has an opportunity to declare stealth.


Austin AGoT Players

http://agotaustin.com


#4 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,718 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 06:11 AM

PlebeianMaw said:

In what way are Naval Enhancement characters affected by … The Foxes Teeth?
Fox's Teeth is a bit harder on the Naval Mechanic than Stealth.

Bomb and doulos2k are correct that while stealth prevents you from using the Naval mechanic to declare defenders, Naval can get around the stealth limitation through smart use of timing.

On the other hand, when Fox's Teeth is attacking, only kneeling characters can be declared as defenders. And, as the FAQ says, since Fox's Teeth's effect saying that kneeling characters can be declared as defenders doesn't specifically reference the Naval mechanic, it doesn't change the fact that you have to kneel the character in order to declare it using the Naval mechanic.

So unlike Stealth, there is no trick of timing and an attacking Fox's Teeth completely shuts down the Naval mechanic for defense.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS