Jump to content



Photo

"Shadow" + "Cloud of Mist" class card


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 JJFlash

JJFlash

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 March 2013 - 02:18 AM

Are those two cumulative? The Cloud of Mist card states that you need a surge to hit, and so does the Shadow ability. If someone tries to hit a Shadow Dragon while the Cloud of Mist card is in play, are then two surges required? Or only one?



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,295 posts

Posted 30 March 2013 - 03:31 AM

Well, it's been ruled that two Shadows don't combine, still need only one surge. Here we have too different effects, so I'd say you do need 2 surges. However, at least for the heroes, it shouldn't really be an issue, just do your attacks first and then have the Spiritspeaker use CoM or if he used it previous turn, have the SS go first (refreshing the card and ending its effect), so the heroes again only need one surge to hit a monster while adjacent a Shadow Dragon (Shadow works as long as you're adjacent to the SD, even if targetting another monster).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 greeniemeenie

greeniemeenie

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 December 2013 - 05:00 AM

I think cloud of mist is odds of the most imbalanced card in the game.GAME developers must not have tested that hero ability. Recently played a game vs 4 and that card alone won the game for the heroes.

As a house rule. I changed it to. CoM when activated. Only affects the hero casting the spell and the first attack on any other hero 3 adjacent.

Again such and unbalanced card.

#4 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 390 posts

Posted 14 December 2013 - 06:10 AM

I do not think its overpowered:

1) it takes two fatigue to cast.

 

2)The spiritspeaker is not the greatest class - mainly because its such fatigue heavy class, nerfing CoM just means he is going to suck even more. This class needs to do ALOT of resting !

 

3) It can really only effectively be used every second round (unless the heroes keep moving) as the spirit-speaker needs to go first in the round to make the card exhaust so that his fellow heroes do not need to spend a surge to hit a monster within range of the CoM.

 

To be effective the spiritspeaker needs to be the last hero to have their turn, cast the spell. Then go first in the next round to exhaust the card so that when the rest of his fellow hereos go they do not need to spend fatigue to hit anything in 3 spaces of the spirit speaker.

 

On another note:

Its important to note that CoM does not just affect monsters hitting heroes, but also heroes hitting monsters! So it needs to be played with some thought as not to affect your fellow heroes.

 

Edit:

 

In answer to the original question, i have not seen a ruling on this officially by FFG - however it is my understanding of the rules that they do indeed stack so an attacker must spend 2 surges if covered by CoM and is also adjacent to the Shadow Dragon.

 

"Shadow: A hero adjacent to this monster that declares an attack must spend 1 surge or the attack is considered a miss"

 

Cloud of Mist: "As an action: Exhaust this card. While this card is exhausted, each attack that targets a space within 3 spaces of you misses unless the attacker spends 1 surge"


Edited by BentoSan, 14 December 2013 - 06:35 AM.

  • Kunzite likes this

#5 greeniemeenie

greeniemeenie

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 December 2013 - 10:35 AM

That's exactly what the heroes did. They slowly inched their way through the map. Made sure CoM was cast EVERY round before their turns ended. And let's just say, I didn't hit any of them once, and when I was able to do dmg, they would just block all my dmg. I practically couldn't hit anyone. Unless we are playing this card incorrectly, this card is to strong. And it's only 1 stamina to cast not 2.

They basically walked though the shadow vault interlude with ease.

Burn 3 stamina to move. Rest..More stamina to move cast CoM..making sure that it would cover any hero likely to be attacked by any of my minions.


Edited by greeniemeenie, 14 December 2013 - 11:10 AM.


#6 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,648 posts

Posted 14 December 2013 - 04:53 PM

Burn 3 stamina to move. Rest..More stamina to move cast CoM..making sure that it would cover any hero likely to be attacked by any of my minions.

 

Rest only refills your fatigue at the end of your turn.  You know that, right?

 

As for the strategy, unfortunately this is just a bad map for it.  Normally I would suggest just ignoring the heroes and focusing on your own objective, but in this case you need to get the coffin away from the heroes first, so sadly this strategy is hard to counter.  There are OL cards that will give you free surges, but all I can really say is do your best.

 

However, it is only one quest.  You can just avoid it as much as possible.


  • greeniemeenie likes this

#7 RoyGCiv

RoyGCiv

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 December 2013 - 08:31 PM

Still new to the game, can you guys explain to me why these would stack. I would think a single spent surge would fulfill both effects.

#8 Unclechawie

Unclechawie

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 18 December 2013 - 10:07 AM

They stack because they are two separate, yet very similar effects.  A Shadow Dragon within 3 spaces of the Spiritspeaker while Cloud of Mist is active must spend a surge to hit the Dragon.  Having spent that surge, Shadow is satisfied, however Cloud of Mist isn't.  Another surge needs to be spent to satisfy Cloud of Mist to hit the Dragon.

 

Hope that helps. 



#9 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 18 December 2013 - 11:38 AM

edit: Sorry, replied in the wrong post after switching tabs.


Edited by griton, 18 December 2013 - 11:39 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS