Jump to content



Photo

Xirat'p


  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 wensdeil

wensdeil

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 27 March 2013 - 06:29 PM

 

Hello
Xirat'p can play spells from the top of the deck at the price of loyalty.
 
If the spell is neutral cost of loyalty has? 0?
 
If the spell has the restriction to play it at the beginning of turn, can I corrupt Xirat'p during the shift to bypass the restriction?
Or are forced to corrupt Xirat'p the beginning of a turn?
 
Thanks.


#2 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 27 March 2013 - 08:20 PM

Hello Wensdeil :)

I think that if the spell is neutral you can play it for 0 resources.

If an effect has is trigger at the beginning of the turn you can’t play an Action like  that of Xirat’p before, from the FAQ:

 

D. Beginning of a Phase/Turn

1. Resolve “at the beginning of the turn/phase” triggered Constant/Forced Effects [Go to A]

2. Action Window [Go to B]

 

A. After a Trigger Condition

1. Resolve triggered Constant Effects (all effects exist independently of their source)

-Active player resolves his effects in any order of his choice [Go to C]

-Next player resolves his effects in any order of his choice, etc. [Go to C]

2. Resolve Forced Effects (all effects exist independently of their source)

-Active player resolves his effects in any order of his choice [Go to C]

-Next player resolves his effects in any order of his choice, etc. [Go to C]

B. Action Window

……..



#3 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 704 posts

Posted 27 March 2013 - 10:26 PM

Horatius said:

Hello Wensdeil :)

I think that if the spell is neutral you can play it for 0 resources.

If an effect has is trigger at the beginning of the turn you can’t play an Action like  that of Xirat’p before, from the FAQ:

Wrong :P

1 Neutral spells don't have loyalty therefore can't be played.

2 Cacophonic Scream has restriction: Play at the beginning of your turn, not action: at the beginning of your turn… It's the same as Verena's Play during your turn. So it can be played through Xirat'p, but it has to be during Phase 0 Beginning of the Turn (it's a confirmed ruling).



#4 Horatius

Horatius

    Member

  • Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 28 March 2013 - 12:44 AM

1) I'm not so sure that if the card has no loyalty you can't play.

2) Yes, for the restriction you are right, I did not think about Cacofonic Scream, infact I was talking about effects that trigger at the beggining of the turn…



#5 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 704 posts

Posted 28 March 2013 - 04:03 AM

Horatius said:

1) I'm not so sure that if the card has no loyalty you can't play.

I am sure ;)



#6 Barakudas

Barakudas

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 28 March 2013 - 11:56 AM

 

Why wouldn't you be able to play the neutral spell at 0 cost?  Asuryan's cleansing allows you to spend 0 resources to satisfy the clause, wouldn't having 0 loyalty be similar?  I can understand the desire to not allow neutral cards to be played for free, but then the way Xirat'p is written would need to be reworded.

 

I would also posit the lack of loyalty symbols is what makes neutral card not match your faction specific cards (ie Northern Wastes).  That is why a card like Zealot Hunter mentions racial affiliation not loyalty symbols.

 

Asuryan's Cleansing:  Action: Cancel and discard target unit or support card being played unless its controller spends all resources in his pool. (If no resources remain, opponent can spend 0 resources to spend "all.")

 

Zealot Hunter: Order Only. Forced: After this unit enters play, destroy a unit that does not share the racial affiliation of its controller's capital.

 

 



#7 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 704 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 05:28 AM

Xirat'p allows you only to play cards with loyalty, neutral cards don't have loyalty at all. Simple as that.



#8 Barakudas

Barakudas

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 10:13 AM

Virgo said:

Xirat'p allows you only to play cards with loyalty, neutral cards don't have loyalty at all. Simple as that.

 

Really?  So neutral cards don't have loyalty, then what happens when I target a neutral unit with Madtoof Ironleg?

Limit one Hero per zone. Action: At the beginning of your turn, target unit you control gains P equal to its loyalty. Then, sacrifice it at the end of the turn.

Does the game implode?  Or does the unit gain 0 hammers?  It might seem nice to just assume that Xirat'p is ment to play racial cards, then the development team should have worded it as such.  There are ways to make the card function as you are saying, but a person picking up the game is going to more than likely see it as neutral cards have no loyalty cost on them. From page 10 in the rulebook

A card’s cost is determined by adding the card’s
printed cost (the numerical value in the upper left
hand corner of the card) and its loyalty cost (the num
ber of loyalty icons under the printed cost minus the
number of matching race symbols the player controls
in play). Notice that each Capital Board has one race
symbol for the race it represents. A card’s loyalty cost
cannot be less than zero

I agree that netural cards don't have any loyalty symbols on them, but how is that not considered 0 loyalty?



#9 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 704 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 12:49 PM

Barakudas said:

Does the game implode?

It's time to stop posting.

You won't change the fact that neutral cards don't have loyalty.

 



#10 Doc9

Doc9

    Member

  • Members
  • 454 posts

Posted 29 March 2013 - 06:22 PM

Virgo is correct. Neutral cards do not have loyalty.



#11 Barakudas

Barakudas

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 30 March 2013 - 02:56 AM

Doc9 said:

Virgo is correct. Neutral cards do not have loyalty.

 

Doc9:  It is good to see that we all agree that neutral cards do not have loyalty.  I just equate that to mean the term 0.  Could you answer these questions?

 

1)When Hag Graef Mine targets a neutral unit. "X" would become what?  I know that the answer is 0 (OK I hope the answer is 0)

2)When Madtoof Ironleg targets a neutral unit. how many hammers does it gain?  I also assume that this is 0

The point of this is simple: in these cases the card checks for loyalty, but I assume that that value is set to 0 (I I know what happens when I assume, especially on the internet).  Unless you are contending that these cards couldn't target a neutral unit because they lack loyalty symbols.

Thanks for the responses, though if you are just going to scold me for asking questions, please save the bandwidth we all know that we use to much of.

 

 

Hag Graef Mine Action: Corrupt a unit that you control but do not own to (choose one): draw X cards, or gain X resources. X is that unit's loyalty.

Madtoof Ironleg:  Limit one Hero per zone. Action: At the beginning of your turn, target unit you control gains P equal to its loyalty. Then, sacrifice it at the end of the turn

 

 



#12 HappyDD

HappyDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 30 March 2013 - 05:33 AM

The cards you are talking about get 0 of whatever they get per loyalty not because they have 0 loyalty, but because they have no loyalty. This is a good example of card-game logic. In the real world, if I have no apples I also happen to have zero apples. In Invasion, I don't think there are zero loyalty cards. There are racial cards with at least one loyalty, then there are neutral cards with no loyalty. So while you are not crazy to suspect no loyalty = zero loyalty, it just doesn't work like that in this game.



#13 wensdeil

wensdeil

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 30 March 2013 - 07:24 AM

 

Boys
Both thesis can be considered logical.
But unfortunately only one can be true.
I think we have to wait for someone in authority.
Mallumo or Entropy42 or a designer if it passes from the forum.
 
Anyway thanks for taking part in the discussion.
 
Goodbay


#14 Entropy42

Entropy42

    Member

  • Members
  • 650 posts

Posted 31 March 2013 - 06:28 AM

For the purposes of card effects, Neutral cards loyalty cost is 0.  Otherwise Paranoia would not prevent neutral cards from entering a zone, and it does.  There is no written record that I (or Mallumo) can find that says whether Neutral cards are "zero loyalty cost" or "no loyalty cost", but there is an old answer from me on these forums about Paranoia that says neutrals have 0 loyalty, and I still think that is correct.

The rulebook says "loyalty cost (the number of loyalty icons under the printed cost minus the number of matching race symbols the player controls in play)"   Neutrals have zero loyalty icons under their printed cost.

Developments, however, have no cost and no loyalty.



#15 HappyDD

HappyDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:26 AM

This is just painful now. Painful. I don't want to live in a world where neutral tactics have zero loyalty, supports have zero HP (since it's not on the card), and the rules don't say a dog isn't allowed to play football.

 



#16 Entropy42

Entropy42

    Member

  • Members
  • 650 posts

Posted 31 March 2013 - 12:55 PM

Mallumo is getting an official response about this from Lukas, so he can post it on the intarweb for all eternity.  And then point and laugh at me forever if he says they have no loyalty.



#17 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 504 posts

Posted 01 April 2013 - 05:21 AM

Ah, come on, don't show any weakness. You're an authority, man! You can quote yourself as proof, that's pretty neat.

 

Anyway, here's the second authority quoting a mail from a third to support the first:

 

Lukas Litzsinger: Neutrals are considered to have 0 loyalty.



#18 HappyDD

HappyDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 01 April 2013 - 08:08 AM

Jesus… The pain… It's overwhelming.



#19 Virgo

Virgo

    Member

  • Members
  • 704 posts

Posted 04 April 2013 - 09:58 PM

Entropy42 said:

For the purposes of card effects, Neutral cards loyalty cost is 0.  Otherwise Paranoia would not prevent neutral cards from entering a zone, and it does.  There is no written record that I (or Mallumo) can find that says whether Neutral cards are "zero loyalty cost" or "no loyalty cost", but there is an old answer from me on these forums about Paranoia that says neutrals have 0 loyalty, and I still think that is correct.

The rulebook says "loyalty cost (the number of loyalty icons under the printed cost minus the number of matching race symbols the player controls in play)"   Neutrals have zero loyalty icons under their printed cost.

Developments, however, have no cost and no loyalty.

Paranoia would prevent neutral cards, beacuse nothing is still fewer than 3.

Neutrals don't have zero loyalty icons. They have none.

But if it's official than so be it.

 



#20 Budmilka_fr

Budmilka_fr

    Member

  • Members
  • 141 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 02:32 PM

In that case developments with Kairos, who have no cost (ruling) would be destroyed with Chain Lightning because they have a cost of 2 or less.

Unfortunately, that's not the case…






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS