Jump to content



Photo

Question about using search items.


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Zogwort

Zogwort

    Member

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 24 March 2013 - 06:52 AM

The rulebook says when you use a search item, flip the card over and keep it in your play area. Does that mean that search items never go back into the search deck once they get used? If so, wouldn't that mean that the heroes could hoard search items, causing the search deck to be only a couple of cards?

Also, I didn't see anying regarding when the used item card is "unflipped." Do you unflip the card between encounters or between quests?



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 24 March 2013 - 08:42 AM

Unless they have Aurim from the CK (or Lair expansion's Secret Room), heroes can only get one card per hero per encounter most of the time, so 3 cards with 3 heroes. They keep them for the duration of the quest (E1 and E2), but once used, they never unflip. After the quest they are sold off and the Search deck starts at 12 cards for the next quest.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Zogwort

Zogwort

    Member

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 24 March 2013 - 10:25 AM

Dam said:

After the quest they are sold off and the Search deck starts at 12 cards for the next quest.

 

I assume you mean they are sold as long as they aren't used, right?



#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 24 March 2013 - 10:33 AM

Sold regardless, so might as well use them:

"Then return all Search cards to the deck (even if the heroes

didn’t use their abilities)." (p. 20)

"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#5 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 24 March 2013 - 11:01 AM

I confirm : whether you use the searched items or not, you sell them - and you reconstitute the search card deck between quests.


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#6 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,675 posts

Posted 24 March 2013 - 11:57 AM

PS: It has also been clarified that if you do manage to run through the entire Search deck in a single quest, you do not reshuffle anything.  Any additional search tokens are now useless.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS