Jump to content



Photo

Rules Questions


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 CenturionCajun

CenturionCajun

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:53 AM

So, I thought I would start this thread for the inevitable tide of rules questions I'm probably going to end up having. The formost of which is a rules clarification about leveling up. The group I was playing with yesterday was insisting you could only level up using six points of strength from cards of a matching color. However, the way I read the rules any six strength of cards is enough to level up. So, who is correct?



#2 talismanisland

talismanisland

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,965 posts

Posted 22 March 2013 - 08:09 AM

It can be a mix of any colour.


Harbourmaster at Talisman Island - 15 magical years and counting!

Sometimes I even update the Talisman Island Facebook Page!

#3 CenturionCajun

CenturionCajun

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 22 March 2013 - 03:21 PM

Thank you for the clarification. That might explain why the game took us nearly five hours. reir



#4 Kaaihn

Kaaihn

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 23 March 2013 - 03:22 AM

Does it seem right that you get out of fighting enemies as soon as you lose?  If you have multiple enemies of different stats and lose to one, the engagement round ends immediately and you don't fight the next enemy from the way the rules are written.



#5 EvilEdwin

EvilEdwin

    Member

  • Members
  • 187 posts

Posted 23 March 2013 - 03:30 AM

Kaaihn said:

Does it seem right that you get out of fighting enemies as soon as you lose?  If you have multiple enemies of different stats and lose to one, the engagement round ends immediately and you don't fight the next enemy from the way the rules are written.

That's exactly right. You might not fight the remaining enemies, buy you also don't get any assets or encounters either.



#6 Kaaihn

Kaaihn

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 23 March 2013 - 05:11 AM

Seems odd that the other enemies don't get the opportunity to take a whack at you is all.



#7 EvilEdwin

EvilEdwin

    Member

  • Members
  • 187 posts

Posted 23 March 2013 - 11:27 AM

Kaaihn said:

Seems odd that the other enemies don't get the opportunity to take a whack at you is all.

 

Well if you have three different colour Enemies which you have no chance of beating and you'd prefer to lose three lives, rather than one, that's your prerogative I guess.



#8 Tiamat_Darkblade

Tiamat_Darkblade

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 10:44 AM

Hi, I have a question about activated corruption cards. I unerstand how they activate so you need 3 cards if the acrtivation cost is 3 for exaple, but where i get confused is that, it says abilities stay active unitl discarded or flipped over. bu there is no mention in the rules how this occurs, i know some of the cards hvae flipped once resolved and there are cards and spaces that allw you to get rid of them. my question is relating to the discarding of cards. if for example i have 5 corruption cards and i have them all active because they are say 5, 2, 2, 2 and 1, when i discard one of the cards does the card that has the power 5 on it then flip over or does it stay active as the activation cost has been paid.



#9 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:43 PM

Once it's face-up, a Corruption card remains that way even if you then go below it's activation number in corruption. Haven't come across any means to flip a face-up card facedown other than some of the Corruption cards themselves saying "do this, then flip facedown."


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#10 Dark Bunny Lord

Dark Bunny Lord

    Member

  • Members
  • 355 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:44 PM

It's exactly as the rules say. It stays faceup as the "activation" requirement is only tested when the card is drawn, after that however much corruption you have is irrelevant. That said if you're going to discard a corruption card (via in game effect of some sort) and you don't like one of the faceup effects then by all means… discard that one.

Source: Rule Book, Page 17:
"…the card ACTIVATES and remains face up in his play area."
"The card remains activated, and any constat effects from the ability continue until it is discarded or flipped facedown"

Though I haven't yet seen a card that flips a corruption card face other than the corruption card itself that says "draw one corruption card then flip this face down". (Given I haven't looked through and memorized every card, just going off what I remember from play and a cursory glance of the rules).



#11 Dark Bunny Lord

Dark Bunny Lord

    Member

  • Members
  • 355 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:45 PM

Dam said:

Once it's face-up, a Corruption card remains that way even if you then go below it's activation number in corruption. Haven't come across any means to flip a face-up card facedown other than some of the Corruption cards themselves saying "do this, then flip facedown."

Damn beat me to it haha. Yeah similarly haven't seen any "flip a corruption card facedown" other than the corruption cards themselves, though I'm figuring part of this might just be preperation for possible expansions that have such things.



#12 Crag78

Crag78

    Member

  • Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 05 April 2013 - 12:50 AM

Might be a stupid question but here's my… :If you have an enemy trophy with attribute of 13,do you level up two levels at the same with all their rewards of level up one level at the time losing the remaining 7 xp?



#13 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 05 April 2013 - 03:12 AM

You get +1 level for every six points of trophies you cash in, so 12+ single trophy nets you two levels. Best I've seen so far is 5 levels in one cashing. Character had 8 and 9 point trophies in the bag (one shy of 18 for +3 levels and didn't want to cash either in individually), then defeated Bloodcrusher (12 pointer that doesn't join others in battle) and a 3 and a 6 point enemies that joined up in one turn reir . Of course, I've also seen 60 points of trophies left over after reaching lvl 12 AND discarding 8 points for Warp Rift…


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#14 fumblemore

fumblemore

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 April 2013 - 05:01 AM

Ran this at game convention last week, had players only level up once per turn.  This allows them to stockpile excess trophies, and gives others the change to stay competitive, so someone doesn't run away with a victory after one lucky round.



#15 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 05 April 2013 - 06:15 AM

So you penalized someone for beating a 12+ enemy by themselves by making them waste half its trophy points enfadado? Or did those points go in a pool and get spent the following turn?


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#16 fumblemore

fumblemore

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 April 2013 - 08:06 AM

Yeah, guess I did, rules say spent in multiples of 6.  Don't recall any times someone took on the "big ones" by themselves and won.  Still getting over  Talisman rules where you just loose excess trophy points.



#17 The Chaos

The Chaos

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 06:50 AM

Im a little confused with the Commisars middle special ability. I have two questions 1) Where is my play area? and 2) if I can't use the strangers abilities then why would I want them in my play area? Sorry if this is a bit dumb

#18 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:00 AM

The Chaos said:

Im a little confused with the Commisars middle special ability. I have two questions 1) Where is my play area? and 2) if I can't use the strangers abilities then why would I want them in my play area? Sorry if this is a bit dumb

#1: Play area is just where you put your assets.

#2: They work with his last special ability, allowing him to discard the stranger (or ally) to turn a skill or combat roll (I think those were the options listed) into a 6 and thus an exploding die.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS