Jump to content



Photo

Watcher in The Water Tentacle Question


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Khamul The Easterling

Khamul The Easterling

    Member

  • Members
  • 623 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 09:46 AM

So All the Tentacles in The Watcher in The Water Senario have a text that says to "discard a card from the encounter deck and if it is a tenacle enemy…." then do whatever it says.  But my Question is do you deal a shadow card AND the card for the text or do you just do the text and skip the shadow card?  What i was doing was deal a shadow card, then discard the card from the encouter deck to see if it is a tentacle.  Is this right?
 

Thanks


Now at that time the Chieftain of the Ringwraiths dwelt in Minas Morgul with six companions, while the second to the Chief, Khamul the Shadow of the East, abode in Dol Guldur as Sauron's Lieutenant, with one other as his messenger."  - Unfinished Tales


#2 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,359 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 03:03 PM

 

Shadow cards are dealt at the beginning of the combat phase, before enemies attack.  Striking Tentacles will also trigger their Forced effect, discarding an encounter deck card when they attack (for the other kinds of tentacles, the Forced text only triggers when YOU attack THEM).  So, with a Striking Tentacle, it'll look something like this:

1) Deal shadow cards to all enemies at the start of the combat phase.

2) Decide which enemy will attack first.  Declare defender (or let it go undefended).

3) If that enemy is a Striking Tentacle, discard the top card of the encounter deck.  This attack becomes undefended if the discarded card is a Tentacle enemy or has a shadow effect printed on it.

4) Reveal the shadow card that you previously dealt to the Striking Tentacle and resolve its effect.

5) Resolve attack damage.

Rinse and repeat for remaining enemies.  If the tentacles are Grasping or Thrashing Tentacles, you won't discard any cards from the encounter deck until you get to the next step of the combat phase, where you declare your own attacks.



#3 Khamul The Easterling

Khamul The Easterling

    Member

  • Members
  • 623 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 04:16 PM

OK thanks man. 


Now at that time the Chieftain of the Ringwraiths dwelt in Minas Morgul with six companions, while the second to the Chief, Khamul the Shadow of the East, abode in Dol Guldur as Sauron's Lieutenant, with one other as his messenger."  - Unfinished Tales





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS