Jump to content



Photo

Geomancer and Summoned Stones


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Yerazald

Yerazald

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 17 March 2013 - 01:28 PM

When the summoned stone attack when the geomancer use one of his ability, does the extra surge apply on the attack made from the summoned stone?

Here is the wording on the summoned stone : Each of your attack targeting a monster adjacent to the summoned stone gain one surge.

Here is the wording on the base ability : While this card is exaust, one of your summoned stone may attack, using your equiped magic weapon.

Is the attack considered one of the geomancer so he can gain the extra surge?

 

Thanks for the answer.



#2 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 17 March 2013 - 02:53 PM

Only applies to attacks made by the geomancer. To attack with one of your stones you would exhaust the basic skill (consuming one of the geomancer's actions) then perform a second action - or vice versa. Only then would you be able to attack with a single stone during the familiar's activation phase. To gain the surge you would activate the familiar(s) first (the stone(s)), move them into position and then activate your geomancer. You can't split actions between your stone(s) and your character. The "your" refers to the geomancer.



#3 KAGE13

KAGE13

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 06:22 AM

I'm having problems with the wording of this card as well.

It says you can exhaust this card to summom a stone, and while the card is exhausted you can attack with a stone. 

So, what I don't get is the Fatigue at the bottom.  Does it cost you an action and a fatigue to do this?

The way it reads you will only ever be able to make one attack with a stone on the turn that its summoned.  Especially if you only have 1 stone to summon.   You wouldn't be able to attack with that stone again until its destroyed and summoned again.  It makes it a bit easier as you get more stones, but the way the card reads you can't exhaust the card if all your stones are on the board. 

unless after its summoned you can spend a fatigue to exhaust the card without summoning a new one and make an attack with the stone.  but the way it reads I can't see just exhausting the card without summoning one.

can anyone clarify?

 



#4 Husker949

Husker949

    Member

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:30 AM

The only action you can take while activating your Summoned Stone familiar is to move it, and they only have the single move action durring activation. Activation can occur before or after the Geomancer has taken his/her turn. The summon stone card gives you additional rules and things that you can do with your stone(s). To use the card, you exhaust it, pay one fatigue, and one action. The card also specifically states that only one stone may be granted an attack durring its activation while the card is exhausted.

You may only summon one(1) stone per turn since you have to exhaust the card to use it.

You pay one(1) action, and one(1) fatigue to activate the card.

While the card is exhausted, select one(1) of your summoned stones on the map, durring its activation you may make one attack with it using the Geomancer's weapon. This attack does not grant the bonus surge for being adjacent to an enemy and the stone, as that ability can only be used when the Geomancer is making the attack against a creature that is adjacent to the stone.

In all honesty, there is no reason to ever use the fatigue and action to have your stone make an attack because chances are you making two attacks against that monster will result in more damage because of the bonus surge you would receive. The text does read that you may remove a stone that is already on the map and place a new one, then durring one of the stone's activations you can make an attack. If you really wanted to make an attack with a stone, the only situation that it would be helpful is where the Geomancer does not have LOS to the monster, but the stone does.

The biggest thing to remember is, familiar activation constists of only one(1) move action.

The card supercedes the rules because it adds something new to them. Take a look at Reanimate, the Necromancer skill, it tells you that you can make a move action and an attack action every activation. Just read the text and follow what it tells you. The stones are great for making enemies waste actions on, not you wasting actions on them for the enemy's sake.



#5 KAGE13

KAGE13

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:47 AM

Awesome, thanx for the answer. 

 



#6 Husker949

Husker949

    Member

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 10 April 2013 - 05:57 AM

Anytime, I have found that the Geomancer can be one of the most powerful classes in the game. I have made comments in other threads about strategy to use with him, especially when you use Quellion and his heroic feat. Top that off with some stamina potions and you have the whole map at your disposal.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS