Jump to content



Photo

Pretending to Sleep on Lonely Mountain Stage 3B


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Kerstoid

Kerstoid

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 16 March 2013 - 05:39 PM

What happens when "Pretending to Sleep" is drawn from the encounter deck during the staging step when you are on Stage 3B of the Lonely Mountain scenario?

I assume that since Smaug the Golden is out of play, you don't place a progress token on him.  Do you advance to Stage 4A though?  And if so, is X the number of progress tokens that were on Smaug the Golden when he was moved out of play?


My blog at Master of Lore -- Articles on Tolkien's world as seen through the LOTR LCG.


#2 bollywongaloid

bollywongaloid

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts

Posted 16 March 2013 - 09:29 PM

No you wouldn't advance to stage 4 because the card uses the word 'Then'. From para 1.15 in the FAQ:

'If a card effect uses the word "then", then the preceding effect must resolve successfully for the subsequent dependent effect to resolve.'

As Smaug the Golden is out of play, you can't place the progress on him so therefore the preceding effect doesn't resolve and you can ignore the text after 'Then'. The Surge still happens though. Hope this helps!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS