Physical currency feedback

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 SPARTAN VI

SPARTAN VI

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 16 March 2013 - 12:13 PM

I'm new to WFRP, and tabletop RPGs in general, but will be GM'ing my first session next Sunday. If I'm going to ease my group into the transition from boardgames into tabletop role-play, one thing I'll need to change is how currency is (or isn't) handled in WFRP. One thing I've picked up from my group more than anything is  that they fricken LOVE playing around with boardgame coins.

So I dusted off the old photoshop and took a stab at making some lore appropriate coins for the game. This is what I'm sitting at now, which is original art I've created and own. 

So what are your thoughts? You can find descriptions of Imperial currency on page 70 of the base rule book. If it were up to me, the brass coins would be more crude, but unfortunately I'm at the mercy of the die cutter, which can only do squares, circles, and hexigons. 

For my first session, I'm planning on printing 500 chipboard coins total, which will consist of 150 brass, 300 silver (valuated at 5s or 10s apiece), and 50 gold pieces. Do you guys think this will be enough for our first session if all the player character's start out "broke" or "poor?"

#2 Yepesnopes

Yepesnopes

• Members
  • 1,368 posts

Posted 16 March 2013 - 12:51 PM

If you are interested. In "The Old world Armoury" book of the warhammer fantasy rpg 2nd edition you can find drawings of the "real" coins of the Empire.

As a side note, if you want to make a transition from boardgames to rpgs, you picked up the right rpg.

Cheers,

Yepes

The Book of the Asur - High Elf fan supplement

The Dark Side - Witches, Warlocks, Dark Magic and more

Secrets of the Anvil - Advanced Dwarf careers and runes

Dice statistics calculator for SW EotE

#3 SPARTAN VI

SPARTAN VI

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 16 March 2013 - 01:06 PM

Yepesnopes said: