Hey folks (and Rules Team),
Any thoughts on the timing window(s) in which one may use an ASiS card, Disrupter. It's an Anarch program, inf 1, cost 1, 1 MU, Trash: Prevent a trace. that trace initiates again with a base strength of 0.
So when would a runner be able to use the trash to prevent the trace?
1) When trace triggers but before Corp spends creds to increase trace
2) After Corp spends creds but before Runner spends creds to increase link
3) After Runner spends creds.
Since the word prevent is used as opposed to cancel, or "cause to trace to fail" or similar I'm thinking it would be #1. But I'm not completely firm, as it seems that would make for a weak effect (at least in the current card universe). However, a difference of 4 trace, say on an Ash, could be the difference between a win and loss, so I could see #1 being it too.
The #2 option seems way powerful for the runner as they can make the corp spend enough to cause the trash but then not have enough to get a "reasonable" trace (whatever that might be).
I include #3 for completeness, but I can't think of a time you would trash a program AFTER spending any creds, recurring or not, in a link increase.