Jump to content



Photo

Timing of Disrupter (Study in Static card)


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 tobinator

tobinator

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 14 March 2013 - 10:24 AM

Hey folks (and Rules Team),

Any thoughts on the timing window(s) in which one may use an ASiS card, Disrupter. It's an Anarch program, inf 1, cost 1, 1 MU, Trash: Prevent a trace. that trace initiates again with a base strength of 0. 

So when would a runner be able to use the trash to prevent the trace?

1) When trace triggers but before Corp spends creds to increase trace

2) After Corp spends creds but before Runner spends creds to increase link

3) After Runner spends creds.

Since the word prevent is used as opposed to cancel, or "cause to trace to fail" or similar I'm thinking it would be #1. But I'm not completely firm, as it seems that would make for a weak effect (at least in the current card universe). However, a difference of 4 trace, say on an Ash, could be the difference between a win and loss, so I could see #1 being it too.

The #2 option seems way powerful for the runner as they can make the corp spend enough to cause the trash but then not have enough to get a "reasonable" trace (whatever that might be).

I include #3 for completeness, but I can't think of a time you would trash a program AFTER spending any creds, recurring or not, in a link increase.

Thanks,

Tobin

-tpl

 



#2 etherial

etherial

    Member

  • Members
  • 295 posts

Posted 17 March 2013 - 03:48 PM

tobinator said:

 

Hey folks (and Rules Team),

Any thoughts on the timing window(s) in which one may use an ASiS card, Disrupter. It's an Anarch program, inf 1, cost 1, 1 MU, Trash: Prevent a trace. that trace initiates again with a base strength of 0. 

 

 

Lots of thoughts. No answers. It is the most talked about card in this data pack. If you want to play Disrupter before Lukas rules on how to use it, I suggest you talk to your opponent about it first. If you feel he's taken too long getting back to us, email him directly.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS