Jump to content


Negative defense and counter-counter attacks?

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Jernsaxe



  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 March 2013 - 08:06 AM

I have two questions which I just can't seem to find an answer too.


1. Is it posible to get a negative final defense? The rules would seem to surgest it, but it makes no examples with negative final abilities anywhere in the book that I can see. The reason I ask is that the Anima Calculator app refuses to give you a negative value so I figured, maybe i missed something?

2. Can you counterattack a counterattack that misses? This is ofcourse only in cases where the attacker have several attacks, but is the attacker misses and the defender then miss the counterattack, can the attacker counterattack the defender?

I would really like to know this and where in the rulebooks I can find these answers (if such answers is there).

#2 F3nr1s



  • Members
  • 159 posts

Posted 14 March 2013 - 08:53 AM

For the "negative final defense value": I have read in the other anima forum, that in core exxet it is stated, that no negative final values are possible. If you get a negative value it will be used like an final value of 0. Therefore I think, that the have forgotten this in the core book (like with the ki-effect "physical weapon": in the core book isn't stated, that the weapon to be created must be chosen the moment the technique is created, this is stated first time in the Domine Exxet).

But my groups plays with negative values, therefore a negative defense value is possible (additional defenses, all action penalities and so on), but this is a house rule (and can be really deadly).

For the counter against a counter: I can't find a rule against this. As a house rule, my group doesn't allow counterattacks against counterattack, to make a counterattack safe and to hinder "endless counter-orgies" (if both combatans have many attacks, they can have many counterattacks against counterattacks).

So long,

#3 Jernsaxe



  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 March 2013 - 09:08 AM

Thank you for the quick response. I would still like sort of rule reference if posible, which book and what page and so forth if anyone knows :)

I agree on the counter-counter attack houserule you mention, while I cant find anything in the rules against it it seems abit messy at high levels.

© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS