Jump to content



Photo

Han Solo and Luke Skywalker (Gunner)


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 LordVexus

LordVexus

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 March 2013 - 11:09 AM

I had a question on this combination:

 

Han's ability is to reroll all his dice at anytime and Luke's allows you to fire the primary after a miss with any weapon (primary OR secondary), can you use Han's ability on Luke's reroll?

 

Example: :"Han" Shoots at a tie at range 2 and misses.  So. now because of Luke's ability. you get to shoot again with your primary because you missed.  You proceed to miss again.  Han uses his ability to reroll the dice, now scoring a hit. 

Does it work that way or am I reading it wrong?

 



#2 Englishpete

Englishpete

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,791 posts

Posted 12 March 2013 - 11:26 AM

You can do this, yes. You are better of with gunner though rather than Luke as Han requires a reroll of all dice, which kind of wastes Luke die change ability.


To every man upon this Earth Death cometh soon or late. And how can a man die better than facing fearful odds, for the ashes of his fathers, and the temples of his Gods?
(Horatius: Captain of the Gate)


#3 Vorpal Sword

Vorpal Sword

    O frabjous day!

  • Members
  • 2,299 posts

Posted 12 March 2013 - 11:29 AM

Englishpete said:

You can do this, yes. You are better of with gunner though rather than Luke as Han requires a reroll of all dice, which kind of wastes Luke die change ability.

That's not true, actually: Luke's ability changes a die, and Han's ability rerolls all dice. Rerolling is not the same as changing--it's just like spending a Target Lock and then spending a Focus token.



#4 Artedil

Artedil

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 March 2013 - 11:32 AM

When Han fails, you can repeat because of his ability. If you don't hit, then you can use Luke/Gunner to make a new attack. Then, you can repeat with Han if you fail again.



#5 Englishpete

Englishpete

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,791 posts

Posted 12 March 2013 - 01:07 PM

@ VorpalSword.

So you can reroll Lukes attack with Hans ability and then use Lukes die change ability?

That's very sweet.


To every man upon this Earth Death cometh soon or late. And how can a man die better than facing fearful odds, for the ashes of his fathers, and the temples of his Gods?
(Horatius: Captain of the Gate)


#6 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,328 posts

Posted 12 March 2013 - 03:27 PM

Englishpete said:

@ VorpalSword.

So you can reroll Lukes attack with Hans ability and then use Lukes die change ability?

That's very sweet.

That is correct. Han + Luke is a pretty strong combo… As it should be for all those points.

#7 Forensicus

Forensicus

    Member

  • Members
  • 491 posts

Posted 13 March 2013 - 08:34 AM

LordVexus said:

I had a question on this combination:

 

Han's ability is to reroll all his dice at anytime and Luke's allows you to fire the primary after a miss with any weapon (primary OR secondary), can you use Han's ability on Luke's reroll?

 

Example: :"Han" Shoots at a tie at range 2 and misses.  So. now because of Luke's ability. you get to shoot again with your primary because you missed.  You proceed to miss again.  Han uses his ability to reroll the dice, now scoring a hit. 

Does it work that way or am I reading it wrong?

 

 

From page 10 in the rule book:

 

Combat phase:
During this phase, each ship may perform one attack 
against one enemy ship that is inside its firing arc 
and within range. Starting with the ship with the 
highest pilot skill, players resolve the following 
combat steps in order:
1.  Declare Target: The attacker chooses which 
enemy ship he wishes to attack.
2.  roll attack Dice: The attacker rolls a number 
of attack dice equal to his ship’s primary weapon 
value (red number), unless using a secondary 
weapon (see “Secondary Weapons” on page 19).
3.  Modify attack Dice: Players can spend 
action tokens and resolve abilities that reroll or 
otherwise modify attack dice results. 
4.  roll Defense Dice: The defender rolls a 
number of defense dice equal to his ship’s agility 
value (green number).
5.  Modify Defense Dice: Players can spend 
action tokens and resolve abilities that reroll or 
otherwise modify defense dice results.
6.  compare results: Players compare the final 
attack and defense dice results to determine if 
the defender was hit and how much damage it 
suffers.
7.  Deal Damage: If the defender was hit, it loses 
shield tokens or receives Damage cards based on 
the damage it suffers.
 
Han's reroll MUST be used PRIOR to the opponents defense roll (#3)
 

2014 X-Wing Regional Champion (CPH, Denmark)

 Fleet: 1 x [YT-1300] -  5 x [X-Wing] - 4 x [A-Wing] -2 x [Y-Wing] - 2 x [HWK-290] - 4 x [B-Wing] - 1 x [Transport] - 1 x [Tantive IV]: 2 x [Firespray-31] - 8 x [Tie Fighters] - 6 x [Tie Interceptor] - 3 x [Tie Advanced] - 3 x [TIE-Bomber] - 3 x [Lambda Shuttle]

"Hangars": BattleFoam P.A.C.K. 432 & P.A.C.K. 216 with custom & pluck foams "Battlefields": 3 x Gale Force 9 Mats


#8 LordVexus

LordVexus

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 March 2013 - 08:49 AM

However, when Luke makes his attack after Han misses, then he can do it again.  I see your point about having to reroll it before the defensive player rolls his/her dice (aka you roll all blanks or only one and want to see if you can do better).  So, you miss, due to all evades, then Luke gets his shot, and before the defense rolls, you again can reroll all of the dice and then change one to make it better.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS