Jump to content


Attacking Allies… too limiting?

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Tromdial



  • Members
  • 580 posts

Posted 10 March 2013 - 04:48 PM

Played finally with my friends a Keeper session of Call of the Wild, and albeit fun, a huge question arose about Scenario #1's A Cry for Help: is attacking ally rules too limited or are we missing something crucial, even when having found out who is the guilty suspect.

Bob Jenkins was using a Sniper Rifle, Amanda Sharpe wielding her Care Package, and I had used Bank Notes earlier as Jenny Barnes to trade with the old man for his Colt .38. All of these weapons state they attack mosnters. The rules state that weapons specifying attacks against monsters may not attack allies. From what we had read, nothing lifted that rule as Scenario #1 except a broad ruling in the Keeper Guide that investigators may attack allies (but says nothing about as if they were monsters), nor when the villain is revealed if they count themselves as a monster. We literally could not stop the culprit unless we could have walked up to them and did "No Weapon" attacks, which I accept the game is harder for investigators but really just seems at this point to laugh in the face of logic.

Can anyone explain to me where we may have misread the rules, anyone else is experiencing this dilemma, and/or if people are just house-ruling that weapons really do hurt allies, as that is sensibly what a weapon should do? I am soarly confused.

#2 Brine



  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 11 March 2013 - 04:51 PM

You mis-interpreted the rules. The section in parentheses is the relevant portion.

Cards that specifically affect monsters or investigators cannot be used against allies. For example, the special Action of the “Lantern,” “Knife,” “Guitar,” “Holy Water,” “Dynamite,” and “Typewriter” cannot be used against allies because they specifically target monster figures (and are not attacks).

These are non-attack actions of certain items.

The other relevant rule comes right after the passage above:

Cards that have the attack keyword (such as “Handcuffs” and “Shriveling”), can be used against allies.

All weapons can be used against allies.

#3 Tromdial



  • Members
  • 580 posts

Posted 11 March 2013 - 05:54 PM

Awesome, Brine. Thank you for the clarification. That's what happens when you speed-read.

© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS