Jump to content



Photo

Ballistics / Mathematics, the "spread across enemy units however you choose." part.


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Lord Darkain

Lord Darkain

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 March 2013 - 05:09 AM

Trying to find some opinions on something. So, Ballistics & Mathematics says: "Battle: While involved in a battle, deal up to 6/3 wounds, spread across enemy units however you choose. I know when battle abilities can be played. Its the after comma portion that is in question, "spread wounds across enemy units however you choose." Is this meant to be played after all the hands are out and then spread the damage, or can you play the card before/after any front and then distribute the 6 or 3 spread out between each of the front attacks, even the ones yet to come, saving any remaining damage for later. The damage would of course happen between the attacks as abilities are supposed to. It just say battle and enemy units however you choose. So, during the course of battle can damage be done "however you choose" as the cards are each played and the rest saved for the remaining , or does this card only effect the cards on the table when played? Its probably a bit nitpicky, but that's part of gaming too… :-[ I hope asking the same basic question twice provides some clarification! Again, I know all about the battle abilities on page 25 rule…which also discusses effects lasting through an attack. Thanks for any thoughts you might want to share. Only been able to place twice so far, but it is helluva lot of fun!!!

#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 20 March 2013 - 03:11 AM

What the Techs meant is that at the point in time in battle you choose to use it, you get a "one shot" spread of damage that has to be assigned at once, before any other effects may take place. That means that you could kill off up to 3 or 6 (depending on which tech you use) enemy unita (provided they only have 1 hit each left) or a single unit with 3/6 hits left. Any damage not dealt out is lost and may not be carried over to future enemy units. Hope that's the answer you were looking for.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS