Jump to content



Photo

Bombs and Cover


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 08 March 2013 - 10:58 PM

Simple question, do bombs ignore cover?  I would have thought so if artillery does, but blowed if I can find the rule saying they do.



#2 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 01:50 AM

Yep, nothing in the rules says they do so…. they don't.



#3 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 03:29 AM

Thats whats needed in the second edition rules, a ruddy good clean up of what weapons ignore cover - to much inconsistancy.



#4 Lska

Lska

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 06:23 AM

If they would wouldn't that be stated on the card as usual?



#5 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 09:32 AM

Lska said:

If they would wouldn't that be stated on the card as usual?

Ignoring cover is not neccessarily on the cards though such as Lothar and Stefan.



#6 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 09:45 AM

Lothar doesn't need it, since all Artillery ignores cover.

Stefan, however, was a mistake, and should have Flame Weapon printed on its card.

Yakov, god knows why, is in the same situation as Stefan, however FFG ruled that his weapon indeed does NOT ignore cover.

Hans is another mess. At first they said its card was wrong and the Granate Werfer was a Grenade Weapon that ignores cover, but recently they changed that ruling and now it's back to not ignoring cover.

Many people thought Molotovs should be Flame Weapons and ignore cover, however, they are not.

 

So it's understandable that Major would kind of expect the bombs to ignore cover, it might happen eventually…



#7 Lska

Lska

    Member

  • Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 09:43 PM

In my opinion all is clear about ignoring cover.

Yakov would be too powerfull with a flame weapon, that's why he has a aicid thrower instead of SSU's cover ignoring sulfur thrower.

Hans was an issue but i guess he was too cheap with ignoring cover granade werfer.



#8 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 10:51 PM

Loophole Master said:

 

Lothar doesn't need it, since all Artillery ignores cover.

 

 

Exactly, that was why I was reading through the books to find a blanket rule for bombs as you do artilery fire.  The problem is when you demo the game, and I have done plenty of that, is trying to explain this to the punters - you can't, and they can go away thinking what a shite game.



#9 slick86

slick86

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 26 March 2013 - 12:41 PM

Artillery doesn't ignore cover in buildings but grenade weapon does




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS