Jump to content



Photo

Destroyed objective and reactions to it


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Jedi_Knight

Jedi_Knight

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 08 March 2013 - 11:41 AM

Hi there, today we came up with a few topics we couldn't decide solely by our knowledge of the rules, so here I am asking the crowd:
 

  1. Devastator and it's reaction - can it be payed multiple times on the destruction of said objective? The wording doesn't prohibit it (there is no "per turn limit"), yet common sense suggests the wording should be different in such case (as "spend x to increase the dial by x").
  2. Emperor Palpatine and Red Two - do these reactions occur after a destruction of your objective? Once again, the wording does not prohibit such course of actions, yet common sense dictates that this is not the way such cards were intended.

 

I am eagerly awaiting any and all comments.



#2 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 08 March 2013 - 12:43 PM

1. You can only trigger a response once per triggering condition.  Thus since the objective is only being destroyed once, you can only use Devastator's response once when that happens. (And you're right about how they'd word it differently had they intended otherwise.)

2. Both Palpatine and Red Two can use their responses when one of their objectives is destroyed.  Don't use common sense or theme to interpret rules - use the text in the rulebook and on the cards. :)  The text would say "After an opponent's objective is destroyed…" if they had intended to restrict the ability.



#3 BD Flory

BD Flory

    Member

  • Members
  • 106 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 09:02 AM

radiskull said:

2. Both Palpatine and Red Two can use their responses when one of their objectives is destroyed.  Don't use common sense or theme to interpret rules - use the text in the rulebook and on the cards. :)  The text would say "After an opponent's objective is destroyed…" if they had intended to restrict the ability.

 

Although it should be noted in the case of Red Two, if the objective was destroyed as the result of a strike, red two will have to focus to strike again for the engagement to end. The only way Red Two can trigger its ability to be ready for another attack is if the objective is destroyed as part of the 'reward unopposed' step of a conflict. (Unless Red Two isn't participating in the conflict at all, of course.)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS