Jump to content



Photo

Cover from Dim Light and solo heroes…


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Cadavre

Cadavre

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 07 March 2013 - 10:53 AM

 

Hi guys !
 
Is there something that I have missed, or something is wrong in the FAQ 1.7 ?
 
On page 11, it say that the cover provided by the Dim Light rules are applied to solo heroes and superhumans.
But, on page 17, it still say that Heroes do not get a cover save when they are alone.
 
So, if solo heroes and superhumans can benefit from a cover save from Dim Light, what are the Cover Values that we must use ?
 


#2 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 07 March 2013 - 11:45 AM

Heroes do not get a cover save.  In the FAQ they are allowed the dim light cover save that counts a soft or hard cover depending on range.  Just roll the same as if he were a unit.



#3 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 07 March 2013 - 02:02 PM

Yep, the FAQ exception takes precedence over the general hero rules. Lone heroes benefit from soft or hard cover from dim light, depending on distance.



#4 SeismicShock

SeismicShock

    Member

  • Members
  • 67 posts

Posted 07 March 2013 - 02:50 PM

Dim light functions like a cover save, but is not exactly a Cover Save.

 

It's all in the capitalization



#5 Cadavre

Cadavre

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 08 March 2013 - 09:04 AM

 

Okay okay…

It's a bit surprising that now, solo heroes can get a sort of cover.

I guess their cover values will depending of the kind of heroes it is (so, for example, Grenadier X will get the same cover values than the zombies).

Thanks a lot for yours answers.



#6 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 08 March 2013 - 09:40 AM

The thing with Dim Light is that it's a different kind of passive cover, different from soliders actively hiding behind objects. You're in the dark, so you're harder to hit no matter what you do. Because of this all units benefit from Soft Cover (save on hits), Hard Cover (save on blanks) and Cannot Hit, depending on their distance. So Grenadier X would get the same type of save as Joe. I would go so far as to say that if vehicles are ever allowed in such Dim Light conditions (currently it's only the underground, where vehicles can't go) they'd benefit from the same cover.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS