Jump to content



Photo

"That Star Wars Feeling" question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 mrchrislackey

mrchrislackey

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 12:02 AM

 

 

 

 

I was reading the examples in the article on the EotE front page, the examples in the image, And I'm confused.

Example 1 seems fine…. 

A net of 1 success and 2 advantage. (3 success, 2 failures, 2 advantage, 1 disadvantage)

and it says, "your quick shot strikes the stormtrooper, leaving a smoking hole in his armor. You think you'll have no trouble sliding behind cover as he reels from the hit"

But example 2 is confusing…

It shows 1 net success and 2 disadvantage (2 success, 1 failure, 1 advantage, 3 disadvantage)

But the text makes it like he wasn't hit at all.

"Your shot penetrates the foliage concealing the stormtrooper, but only grazes him. he remains difficult for you to see and hit, and you aren't sure where his next shot will come from. 

One net success on both results so it would be the same damage. So why is one 'a smoking hole in the armor' and the other 'only grazes'? Does the advantage/disadvantage affect wounds? 

Hopefully, this isn't from the final book because it's kinda confusing.

 

(accidentally originally posted this in the beta section)



#2 LethalDose

LethalDose

    Member

  • Members
  • 782 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 06:30 AM

mrchrislackey said:

I was reading the examples in the article on the EotE front page, the examples in the image, And I'm confused.

Example 1 seems fine…. 

A net of 1 success and 2 advantage. (3 success, 2 failures, 2 advantage, 1 disadvantage)

and it says, "your quick shot strikes the stormtrooper, leaving a smoking hole in his armor. You think you'll have no trouble sliding behind cover as he reels from the hit"

But example 2 is confusing…

It shows 1 net success and 2 disadvantage (2 success, 1 failure, 1 advantage, 3 disadvantage)

But the text makes it like he wasn't hit at all.

"Your shot penetrates the foliage concealing the stormtrooper, but only grazes him. he remains difficult for you to see and hit, and you aren't sure where his next shot will come from. 

One net success on both results so it would be the same damage. So why is one 'a smoking hole in the armor' and the other 'only grazes'? Does the advantage/disadvantage affect wounds? 

Hopefully, this isn't from the final book because it's kinda confusing.

 

(accidentally originally posted this in the beta section)

Yeah, that looks to be poorly worded.  I think the important difference in interpretation between these two is the net advantage in the two rolls:

  • Roll 1: 1 net success, 1 net adv
  • Roll 2: 1 net succsss, 2 net 'disadvantage' (technically called 'threat')

So both these hits would do the same amount of damage (weapon damage + 1).  The difference, however, is what else happened during the action due to the adv/threat result.  In the first one, you had net advantage, and it sounds like advantage is being used to get behind cover, somehow.  In the second roll, there was net threat, which means that, while the attack was successful, the there are still some negative effects.  In this case, you hit the guy (success), but he slipped out of sight behind the trees (threat).

That help?

-WJL


"All models are wrong, but some models are useful."  - George E. P. Box


#3 LethalDose

LethalDose

    Member

  • Members
  • 782 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 06:33 AM

Oh, I guess there's two of these threads…


"All models are wrong, but some models are useful."  - George E. P. Box


#4 mrchrislackey

mrchrislackey

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 06:30 PM

Yes, 'Threat'! So many games so hard to keep track ;)

Yeah, that seems poorly worded and a bit misleading. I wasn't sure if I was missing something, I guess not.

Thanks for the help and I don't know why it was double posted. The server seemed pretty slow that day and it seemed to bug out! Hope they delete the other one. I couldn't see a way for me to do it.

Thanks again!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS