Jump to content



Photo

Couple questions from veterans


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Verya

Verya

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 04 March 2013 - 12:04 AM

Hi guys, 

 

We play GoT board game every week with my buddies but it seems to me some of the rules are not clearly specified in the manual or we are missing some points. I appretiade your answers.

 

Firstly about Loras Tyrell: So you use Loras, win a fight. The enemy troops retreat to an adjacent area. You place ur march order and troops in the area you conquered and attack again. Do you use a NEW house card during this combat? And isnt it fair to attack the area where the enemy troops have just retreated? This way those troops pose a combat strenght of 0 and cannot retreat again, so its utter destruction for those troops. I know you can anticipate Loras Tyrell and plan accordingly, but still it seems to me its unbalanced.

 

Secondly, when you lose a combat and have to retreat, can you retreat to a neutral area? This question is both for sea and land. This confusion is sea is baffling us :)

 

Third, when moving into neutral areas with march orders, can you take 2 neutral areas with 1 march order? (considering they do not have garrisons such as Eyrie or King's landing)

 



#2 Verya

Verya

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 04 March 2013 - 12:09 AM

Another question is about Patchface house card.

 

So this happened last game: Tyrell attacks Baratheon, Tyrell has 1 house card. Baratheon reveals Patchface. The way I see it, once Tyrell discards the used card, he takes his discard pile back into his hand (except the last used). Since Patchface card specificly says ''after combat'' Baratheon can look at Tyrell's hand and choose to discard one AFTER Tyrell takes his discard pile back. 

Is this how it should be? It can matter life and death if Mace and Loras are in that discard pile :)



#3 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 413 posts

Posted 04 March 2013 - 04:46 AM

Verya said:

Firstly about Loras Tyrell: So you use Loras, win a fight. The enemy troops retreat to an adjacent area. You place ur march order and troops in the area you conquered and attack again. Do you use a NEW house card during this combat? And isnt it fair to attack the area where the enemy troops have just retreated? This way those troops pose a combat strenght of 0 and cannot retreat again, so its utter destruction for those troops. I know you can anticipate Loras Tyrell and plan accordingly, but still it seems to me its unbalanced.

 

Secondly, when you lose a combat and have to retreat, can you retreat to a neutral area? This question is both for sea and land. This confusion is sea is baffling us :)

 

Third, when moving into neutral areas with march orders, can you take 2 neutral areas with 1 march order? (considering they do not have garrisons such as Eyrie or King's landing)

 

Another question is about Patchface house card.

 

So this happened last game: Tyrell attacks Baratheon, Tyrell has 1 house card. Baratheon reveals Patchface. The way I see it, once Tyrell discards the used card, he takes his discard pile back into his hand (except the last used). Since Patchface card specificly says ''after combat'' Baratheon can look at Tyrell's hand and choose to discard one AFTER Tyrell takes his discard pile back.

 

1.  Loras Tyrell -- If you are attacking and win this combat, move the March Order token into the conquered area (instead of discarding it).  The March Order may be resolved again later this round.

You use a NEW house card. Loras is placed in your discard pile once he has been used in combat.  You may then (using the moved March Order) March into the area the retreated/routed units are in on your next turn.  It's up to the losing defender to do his best not to leave his units in that vulnerable position (March some of his units in to protect them, or give them Support).

 

2. Only the losing Defender may retreat to a neutral area.  A losing Attacker must retreat to the area his units came from.

 

3. You may March into as many areas as you wish (up to four) - but you may only start ONE combat.

 

4. From the FAQ:

Q: If the Baratheon player plays his “Patchface”
House card but his opponent is playing his last
remaining House card, does the Baratheon player still
get to discard one of his opponent’s House cards?


A: Yes, Patchface’s text ability would allow the
Baratheon player to discard one of his opponent’s six
House cards at the end of the Combat Clean Up step.



#4 jhagen

jhagen

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 07:51 AM

loras tyrell is an amazing card to win the game around turn 4 or 5 where you use him to attack as your second last card on multiple strongholds/castles with 2 knights and 1 siege:

attack… use the card and the last one to reshuffle.

then attack 2 times again with another unit in the same turn.

thats 4 attacks in 1 turn

5 with the *+1 attack token if you have it.



#5 Nakraal

Nakraal

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 04:04 AM

How about Doran Martell?

Lets say its Tyrell's turn who plays 5th. He attacks Martell, who plays doran. Martell chooses that Tyrell should go to the bottom of the Iron Throne track.

Does this mean that Tyrell plays again? (he played 1as 5th and after this he is 6th).



#6 dypaca

dypaca

    Member

  • Members
  • 104 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 05:53 AM

Nakraal said:

How about Doran Martell?

Lets say its Tyrell's turn who plays 5th. He attacks Martell, who plays doran. Martell chooses that Tyrell should go to the bottom of the Iron Throne track.

Does this mean that Tyrell plays again? (he played 1as 5th and after this he is 6th).

Yes, Tyrell would get two turns.  This is covered somewhat on page 2 of the FAQ.  Turn order means cycling through the positions on the Iron Throne track in order, even if the players move on that track during the turn.

Typically Doran will be much more powerful to use on the other two tracks.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS