Jump to content



Photo

Arborec race-tech


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Nonimus

Nonimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 01 March 2013 - 10:58 PM

Bioplasmosis: At the beginning of the round, you may move one of your GF from one planet you control to another planet in an adjacent system.

Q: What would happen if I did that on Mecatol while custodians are there? Do I remove them as distan sun counter's and clame the planet?



#2 Archangelion

Archangelion

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:21 AM

Doesn't it state that you have to move the GF both from and to a planet you control? Thus you would be unable to use GF to expand on their own, you would need a carrier to transport them to the next world…



#3 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 561 posts

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:07 PM

I believe that the general consensus would say that Mecatol Rex is an exception to the Arborec racial tech the same way it is excepted from a lot of other events and effects.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#4 Nonimus

Nonimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 05:16 AM

this it is written on the card:

At the begining of the Strategy Phase, you may move 1 GF from a planet you control to a friendly or uncontrolled planet in an adjacent system.

(Discard any Domain Counters on the planet)

Winnu has a similar race-technology (Lazax Gate Folding):

At the start of the Status phase, you may place 1 Ground force on Mecatol Rex.

You may only do this if the planet is uncontrolled or is under jour control.

(Discard any Domain Counters on the planet)

In FAQ page 14 ther is explanation for lazax Gate Folding:

 

Q: If Winnu use Lazax Gate Folding to place 1 Ground Force 
on Mecatol Rex when it is uncontrolled, does the player gain 
control of the planet? What happens to the Custodians?
A: Yes. In addition, Custodians are discarded.
 
So question is, can Arborec do the same thing, can they remove Custodians and occupy Mecatol Rex? 
 


#5 Nehkrimah

Nehkrimah

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 10:06 AM

I'd say that they definately can take Mecatol Rex with this

 

-Nehkrimah



#6 Archangelion

Archangelion

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 12:54 PM

Nonimus said:

this it is written on the card:

At the begining of the Strategy Phase, you may move 1 GF from a planet you control to a friendly or uncontrolled planet in an adjacent system.

(Discard any Domain Counters on the planet)

Winnu has a similar race-technology (Lazax Gate Folding):

At the start of the Status phase, you may place 1 Ground force on Mecatol Rex.

You may only do this if the planet is uncontrolled or is under jour control.

(Discard any Domain Counters on the planet)

In FAQ page 14 ther is explanation for lazax Gate Folding:

 

Q: If Winnu use Lazax Gate Folding to place 1 Ground Force 
on Mecatol Rex when it is uncontrolled, does the player gain 
control of the planet? What happens to the Custodians?
A: Yes. In addition, Custodians are discarded.
 
So question is, can Arborec do the same thing, can they remove Custodians and occupy Mecatol Rex? 
 

Given the similarities in wording, and the answer in the FAQs, I would say that the direction that FFG is going is that the Custodian tokens are also considered domain tokens, at least for abilities similar to the effects of those techs in question above.



#7 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 561 posts

Posted 06 March 2013 - 01:19 AM

True. According to RAW I can't see any hindrance for the Arborec to do it.

I suppose the fact that the Winnu racial is specifically ONLY usable for going to Mecatol Rex colored my earlier judgement.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#8 Nonimus

Nonimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 65 posts

Posted 06 March 2013 - 03:29 AM

Thanks for the opinion complice






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS