Jump to content



Photo

Beginner question about running…


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Jag

Jag

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 06:53 AM

So I just started playing ANR with a buddy and had a question that we couldn't find a solid clear answer to in the rulebook, although it's possible we just missed it.

 

When making a run and encountering a rezzed piece of ICE without an icebreaker of the same type can the runner simply take the subroutine effects and pass through the ICE as long as one of the subroutines isn't 'End the run'?

 

This seems logical but we couldn't find a definitive answer.  Thanks!



#2 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 07:59 AM

Jag said:

When making a run and encountering a rezzed piece of ICE without an icebreaker of the same type can the runner simply take the subroutine effects and pass through the ICE as long as one of the subroutines isn't 'End the run'?

Yes, that's exactly how it works. 



#3 etherial

etherial

    Member

  • Members
  • 297 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 08:26 AM

Correct. When the Runner says he is done breaking subroutines, any subroutines remaining will take effect in the order printed on the ICE. If an unbroken subroutine says "End the Run", the run ends. Otherwise, the runner may continue. Note also that the Runner doesn't have to break subroutines in order or even at all. He may choose to let the first subroutine go off after breaking the second, or save his credits and take the effects of the first ICE and break the second ICE.



#4 Jag

Jag

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 09:14 AM

Awesome, thanks for the clarification guys.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS