Jump to content



Photo

Echo Base Defense - Desolation of Hoth Preview Article


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,176 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 07:25 AM

http://www.fantasyfl...s.asp?eidn=3966

 



#2 Holliday88

Holliday88

    Member

  • Members
  • 156 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 08:37 AM

lol and I just updated my cardlist.


North Carolina Facebook Group

Join the resource for connecting players across NC.


#3 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,176 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 08:40 AM

Holliday88 said:

lol and I just updated my cardlist.

 

Yeah I know, I was going to message you about this new preview too.



#4 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    The Uncanny One

  • Members
  • 1,529 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 08:47 AM

This article reiterated the idea that the light side is supposed to feel besieged. I can't shake the feeling that for the Hoth cycle, the dial should be reversed. It seems like the dark side should be trying to destroy three objectives (destroying Echo Base) while the light side tries to get the dial to 12 (at which point the Rebels escape). I have trouble seeing how a light side player will feel besieged by a Sith control deck.


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#5 Holliday88

Holliday88

    Member

  • Members
  • 156 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 08:50 AM

Toqtamish said:

Holliday88 said:

 

lol and I just updated my cardlist.

 

 

 

Yeah I know, I was going to message you about this new preview too.

 

I went ahead and just overwrote the file. :) Did you notice they changed the title of the dark side neutral? Was The Shadow in the Frost, now it's Shadows on the Ice.


North Carolina Facebook Group

Join the resource for connecting players across NC.


#6 Holliday88

Holliday88

    Member

  • Members
  • 156 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 08:53 AM

Oh! And reading the article says that Wedge is in Hoth Operations, so if they follow the same convention as before he'll be 2 of 6.


North Carolina Facebook Group

Join the resource for connecting players across NC.


#7 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,176 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 09:32 AM

Holliday88 said:

Oh! And reading the article says that Wedge is in Hoth Operations, so if they follow the same convention as before he'll be 2 of 6.

 

Yeah I already had Wedge on my list as he was mentioned in the original preview too.  



#8 Darkjawa

Darkjawa

    Member

  • Members
  • 162 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 10:29 AM

those new cards look sweet! Does anyone know how many of each card will be in the expansion packs?



#9 Lukez

Lukez

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 10:35 AM

Subzero defenses is sooooo good. I guess it's balanced by the 1 per deck?



#10 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,176 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 10:59 AM

Darkjawa said:

those new cards look sweet! Does anyone know how many of each card will be in the expansion packs?

 

We know you get two of most OSets and one of any limit of one OSets but we only know two complete OSets from this cycle so far. See my Hoth Cycle what we know thread for the most up to date listing. 



#11 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,176 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 11:00 AM

Lukez said:

Subzero defenses is sooooo good. I guess it's balanced by the 1 per deck?

 

You will have two copies of the card as you get two in its OSet. 



#12 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,368 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 11:40 AM

Edit: misread post above mine, never mind.



#13 crackerbox

crackerbox

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 12:37 PM

The article makes some mention of what a hard time the Dark Side will have if you manage to get both Subzero Defenses out. But, unless I'm missing something, won't the second SZD just sit there not doing a damned thing? I mean, both cards will trigger when that FIRST unit strikes and it's not like it matters that you killed the unit twice. It's not like he's extra dead or anything.

Like I said, unless I'm missing something here…



#14 SmokeyJ

SmokeyJ

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 01:25 PM

crackerbox said:

The article makes some mention of what a hard time the Dark Side will have if you manage to get both Subzero Defenses out. But, unless I'm missing something, won't the second SZD just sit there not doing a damned thing? I mean, both cards will trigger when that FIRST unit strikes and it's not like it matters that you killed the unit twice. It's not like he's extra dead or anything.

Like I said, unless I'm missing something here…

Yeah, I'm not seeing how having two out would be of that much benefit.  Only one unit will be the first to strike, and the strikes resolve, then its destroyed, and nothing in the effect makes it a once per turn, so the one enhancement would work for engagements against multiple Hoth objectives. The second copy is just discard fodder.



#15 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,176 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 01:54 PM

Could be of benefit down the line as there will likely be DS cards that destroy enhancements. 



#16 MasterJediAdam

MasterJediAdam

    Member

  • Members
  • 665 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 02:34 PM

Isn't there a DS card that wrecks enhancements already?


Welcome to the machine!


#17 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,176 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 03:08 PM

MasterJediAdam said:

Isn't there a DS card that wrecks enhancements already?

 

Yup there is now that I had a chance to search on my computer.

 



#18 crackerbox

crackerbox

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 04:16 PM

Toqtamish said:

Could be of benefit down the line as there will likely be DS cards that destroy enhancements. 

I'm not saying that having two in your deck isn't nice. I was just saying that, unlike what the article says, having two in play at the same time is useless. At any rate, I can't wait to get my hands on this set.



#19 shaffer

shaffer

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 04:51 PM

you cant ever have 2 at one time unless it gets reprinted els were. its in oset 39 echo base defence which is limeted 1 per oset



#20 shaffer

shaffer

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 04:52 PM

edit: its limited 1per Odeck






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS